Chattahoochee County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Chattahoochee County
Guide to Chattahoochee County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Chattahoochee County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of [[Georgia]] | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 13, 1854 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Cusseta |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Chattahoochee County Courthouse PO Box 299 Cusseta, GA 31805 Phone: 706.989.3602 Chattahoochee County Website |
Chattahoochee County Georgia Courthouse
Probate Court has marriage and probate records from 1854,
birth and death records from 1919; Clerk Superior Court has
divorce, court and land records from 1854[1]
Chattahoochee County Georgia History
Local histories are available for Chattahoochee County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Parent County
1854--Chattahoochee County was created 13 February 1854 from Muscogee and Marion Counties.
County seat: Cusseta [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Chattahoochee County Georgia Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Chattahoochee County Georgia Genealogy Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
- Rogers, N. K. History of Chattahoochee County, Georgia. Columbus, Ga.: Printed by Columbus Office Supply Co., c1933. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Rogers, N. K. History of Chattahoochee County, Georgia. Columbus, Ga.: Printed by Columbus Office Supply Co., c1933. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Chattahoochee County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog. Do a Place search for Chattahoochee County, Georgia to find these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Wills 1853-1884 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers ($).
- Index to Inventories, Appraisements, Sales, Homesteads, Book A (1863-1883); Book B (1882-1940) Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Annual Returns, Book A (1854-1858) Book B (1858-1860); Book C (1860-1865) Georgia Pioneers
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Marriages
- 1854-1907 - Index to Chattahoochee County Marriages 1854-1907 and 1866 to 1876 Georgia Pioneers
- 1854-1907 - Chattahoochee County Marriage Index 1854-1907. Batch M712441 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1885-1886 - Chattahoochee County Marriages from newspapers 1885-1886 Georgia Pioneers
Death
- 1859-60 - Chattahoochee County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Chattahoochee County Georgia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Chattahoochee County Georgia Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Chattahoochee County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers ($).
Chattahoochee County Georgia Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chattahoochee County, Georgia. Page 153 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
| This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 22 May 2013, at 23:26.
- This page has been accessed 1,428 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

