Cheadle, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Cheadle

Guide to Cheadle, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

CHEADLE, is a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Stockport district, Cheshire. The village stands near the river Mersey, it is 2 miles NW of the junction of the Macclesfield and Congleton railway with the Manchester and Crewe railway, and 2¼ WSW of Stockport. The parish includes also the townships of Cheadle-Bulkeley and Cheadle-Moseley, and the hamlet of Handforth-cum-Bosden; the post office is under Manchester. There are also chapels for Independents, Baptists, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Roman Catholics.[1]

Cheadle includes Bosden, Brookistone, Cheadle Bulkeley, Cheadle Grange, Cheadle Mill, Oakamoor, Freehay, Handforth, Handforth cum Bosden, Handforth St Chad, Huntley, and Cheadle Moseley.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241238.

Church records

Cheadle St Mary the Virgin registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast'
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
Cheadle St Mary the Virgin Parish (1518) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
CPR To 1871
To 1871
To 1871
FS PR's 1818-1877
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
    NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1628-1888   NONE
1727-1837
  NONE
1727-1888
  NONE
FMP (£)     KN

     KN

1871-1972
1871-1972
NBI



1871-1982

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Church of England Parishes

See pages for:

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish register transcripts, christenings, 1677-1713, marriages, 1662-1796, banns, 1755-1766, burials, 1677-1678, Cheshire Record Office: EDB 48.

Parish Registers: Cheadle Film
christenings, 1677-1713, marriages, 1662-1796, banns, 1755-1766, burials, 1677-1678
942.71/C2 V26c British Book
Also on microfilm. Salt Lake City : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1970. on 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm.
823623 Item 3

Bishop's transcripts for Cheadle and Handforth, 1610-1888

Bishops Transcripts: Cheadle Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1610, [2 pages, no dates], 1630, 1633, [1635?], 1636-1643, 1663-1685, 1689-1691, 1695, 1727, 1731-1735, 1737-1738, 1744-1824, baptisms, 1825, marriages (January-February) 1825.
1655427
Marriages (February-December) 1825, burials, 1825, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1826-1833, baptisms, 1834, marriages (January-August) 1834.
1655428
Marriages, (August-December) 1834, burials, 1834, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1835-1837, baptisms, burials, 1838-1852, burials, 1873-1875, baptisms, 1873--1876, burials, 1875-1876, baptisms, burials, 1877-1884, burials, (January- February) 1885
1655429
Baptisms, burials, 1885-1886, 1888.
1655478 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

Roman Catholic Parishes:

Cheadle, St. Chad Stockport Road. Founded 1900.
Cheadle, St. Ann  Vicarage Avenue. Founded 1952.

Other Non-Conformist Churches:

  • Cheadle Hulme, Baptist Union Chapel, Grove Lane. Built in 1840.
  • Edgeley, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Founded 1817. Registers 1818–1837 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Cheadle Hulme, Zion Methodist Chapel (Free), Stretford Road. ReBuilt in 1861. Registers 1824–1843 are at the Cheshire Record Office.  
  • Cheadle, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1865.  
  • Cheadle Heath, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1855.
  • Cheadle Heath, Methodist Chapel (New Connexion). Built in 1883.
  • Cheadle Hulme, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Station Road. Built in 1883.
  • Cheadle Hulme, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Swan Lane. Built in 1869.
  • Cheadle, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Massie Street.

Church Records Stockport Circuit, Edgeley Wesleyan Methodist, Cheadle Parish, County of Cheshire, U.K. (Macclesfield Hundred), burials, 23 Nov. 1817 to 11 Aug. 1959 Microfiche of original published: [S.l.] : North Cheshire Family History Society, 1999.

Parish Registers: Cheadle, Cheshire Wesleyan Methodist Film
Burials; register 1, 1817-1833, register 2, 1833-1846, register 3, 1846-1869, register 4, 1869-1959.
Granite Mountain Record Vault 6200581

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Stockport (1837-1930)

Poor Law Unions

  • Stockport

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Date Accessed: 15 February 2013
  2. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:01.
  • This page has been accessed 3,713 times.