Cheddleton, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Cheddleton, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Cheddleton, Staffordshire
Cheddleton St Edward the Confessor Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Cheadle PLU
Registration District Cheadle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1696; Separate records exist for Wetley Rocks beginning 1834
Bishop's Transcripts: 1676; Separate records exist for Wetley Rocks beginning 1835
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leek
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHEDDLETON (St. Edward), a parish, in the union of Cheadle, N. division of the hundred of Totmonslow and of the county of Stafford, 3½ miles(S. by W.) from Leek; comprising the townships of Basford, Cheddleton, and Consall or Cunsall. [1]

Cheddleton St  Edward is an Ancient parish . Other places in the parish include: Basford, Cellar Head, Chadderton, Wetley Rocks, Consall, Cunsall, Rownall, and Cheddleton and Rownall.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Please see Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Cheddleton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
CHEDDLETON PARISH (1592) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1790-1907
FS 1676-1829
1676-1829

NBI

1592-1912

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1676-1983 Mar 1676-1974 Bur 1676-1941
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1676-1829 Mar 1676-1829 Bur 1676-1829

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474629.

Genealogy

Homersley Jeffrey.  Our Ancestors.  Three generations of Ade Le Kinge (Homersley) are given, illustrated with a photograph of William Homersley  and Katherine Jenkins and a newspaper obituary of William Homersley, 1956. Homersley name was initiated about 1300 in Cheddleton, Staffordshire, and at some stage, they moved to Wales, Flintshire, Harwarden. Article covers years 1274-1955 and is found in Journal Hel Achau, #99, Dec. 2008, pages 13-15, 942.93 D25h

Poor Law Unions

Cheadle Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 558-562. Date accessed: 29 October 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 April 2014.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,524 times.