Chedworth, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Chedworth, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chedworth, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rapsgate
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Northleach PLU
Registration District Northleach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1617
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Northleach
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHEDWORTH (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Northleach, hundred of Rapsgate, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 4½ miles (W. S. W.)from Northleach. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chedworth, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) (£)[2]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
CHEDWORTH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1653-1812
FREG 1653-1955 1643-1954 1653-1866
JOIN
1653-1812

PALL
1790-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288775.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

Add any additional sites that aren’t mentioned above.

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 562-569. Date accessed: 11 February 2013.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2014, at 16:37.
  • This page has been accessed 3,487 times.