Cheetham Hill St Mark, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Cheetham Hill St Mark, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cheetham Hill St Mark, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Manchester PLU
Registration District Manchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1878; Separate registers exist for Cheetham St Luke beginning 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: 1806
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manchester
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

CHEETHAM,(St Mark) is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Lancashire, created in 1839 from Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys, Lancashire Ancient Parish. It is in the hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 2 miles (N. by W.) from Manchester. The township lies on the new and old roads to Bury. Consecrated as chapelry 24th July 1794, The church closed in 1982. Other places in the parish include: Crumpsall , and Cheetham St Luke. There are two meeting-houses for Wesleyans, with a burial-ground and a school attached to one of them; also a place of worship for Associated Methodists. St.Chad's Roman Catholic chapel is on York-street. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records 

Online transcriptions for Cheetham St Mark Redbank Chapelry exist, as well as for the ancient parish of Manchester Our Lady, St George, and St Denys--to which it was attached. Links to online baptisms, marriages and burials registers are displayed below and located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years: 

FS =FamilySearch.org
LOPCLancashire Online Parish Clerk
FMP =  FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashire BMD
AC = Ancestry.co.uk

 

CHEETHAM ST MARK REDBANK Chapelry (1794) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1794-1812 1794-1812 1794-1812
AC 1813-1914
FS 1794-1910 1839-1930 1794-1855 
LOPC None 1839-1982  None
LBMD 1837-1917 1839-1982 1837-1882
CHEETHAM ST ALBANS Chapelry (1881) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1882-1913 1875-1892;1926-1953 None
LOPC 1882-1931 1875-1892;1931-1952 None
LBMD 1881-1917 1881-1982 - part. 1837-1882
CHEETHAM ST LUKE Chapelry (1839) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1839-1910 1840-1930 1840-1932 
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1839-1917  1872-1980 1837-1882
 CHEETHAM ST THOMAS Chapelry (1844) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None  None' None
LBMD 1844-1917 1844-1982 1837-1882

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

To view a full list of all chapelries and district churches in the ancient parish of Manchester and their respective links to online transcriptions of their baptisms, marriages and burials, be sure to visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.

Original Records

The original registers formerly held at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England. Cheetham is a chapelry with at least four chapelries by 1880, in Manchester parish.

FamilySearch has microfilm copies of the original parish (chapel) registers for St. Mark's Church, Cheetham, 1794-1982. Microfilm copies of originals formerly held at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England. Cheetham St Mark is a chapelry in Manchester parish. Original records are held at Manchester Central Library call nos.: M387/1/1/7-9, M387/1/2/2-8.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1794-1897. Burials, 1794-1855, 1878 (1 entry). Marriages, 1839-Nov. 1892.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113016
Calendar of church records deposited at Manchester Central Library. Baptisms, 1879-1958.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113017
Marriages, Dec. 1892-Apr. 1930.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113018
Marriages, May 1930-June 1980, Apr.-Oct. 1982.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2113019


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438731.


Poor Law Union

Manchester Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Cheetham on GENUKI

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=41413 British History Online Cheetham including manorial history of the township

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 562-569. Date accessed: 16 September 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:55.
  • This page has been accessed 5,735 times.