Cheetham St LukeEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Cheetham St Luke, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapelry History

CHEETHAM, (St Luke), was a township and chapelry as of 1839 laying within the civil parish of Manchester. Manchester, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 2 miles (N. by W.) from Manchester. The site of the church was given by the Earl of Derby. It was regarded as one of the finest examples of church architecture in Manchester. The organ was consecrated by the fingers of Mendelssohn, who played it in 1847, the year of his death when he visited Manchester to give a performance of his 'Elijah'. In 1877 St. Luke's was the wealthiest of Manchester's churches.
Today, all that remains of the church is a crumbling tower, the remainder having been demolished during the late 1980's. There are two meeting-houses for Wesleyans, with a burial-ground and a school attached to one of them; also a place of worship for Associated Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records 

Online transcriptions for Cheetham St Mark Redbank Chapelry exist, as well as for the ancient parish of Manchester Our Lady, St George, and St Denys--to which it was attached. Links to online baptisms, marriages and burials registers are displayed below and located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years: 

FS =FamilySearch.org
LOPCLancashire Online Parish Clerk
FMP =  FMP = FindMyPast
LBMDLancashire BMD
AC = Ancestry.co.uk

 

CHEETHAM ST LUKE Chapelry (1839) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1839-1910 1840-1930 1840-1932 
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1839-1917  1872-1980 1837-1882
CHEETHAM ST ALBANS Chapelry (1881) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1882-1913 1875-1892;1926-1953 None
LOPC 1882-1931 1875-1892;1931-1952 None
LBMD 1881-1917 1881-1982 - part. 1837-1882
 CHEETHAM ST THOMAS Chapelry (1844) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None  None None
LBMD 1844-1917 1844-1982 1837-1882
CHEETHAM ST MARK REDBANK Chapelry (1794) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1794-1910 1839-1930 1794-1855 
LOPC None 1839-1982  None
LBMD 1837-1917 1839-1982 1837-1882

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

To view a full list of all chapelries and district churches in the ancient parish of Manchester and their respective links to online transcriptions of their baptisms, marriages and burials, be sure to visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.

Original Records

The original registers formerly held at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England. Cheetham is a chapelry with at least four chapelries by 1880, in Manchester parish.

FamilySearch has microfilm copies of the original parish (chapel) registers for St. Luke's Church, Cheetham, 1839-1981. Microfilm copies of originals formerly held at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England. Cheetham St Mark is a chapelry in Manchester parish. Original records are held at Manchester Central Library.

Parish registers for St. Luke's Church, Cheetham, 1839-1981 Microfilm copy of originals formerly held at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England. Cheetham is a chapelry in Manchester parish. Manchester Central Library call nos.: M339/1/1/1-4, M339/1/2/1-6, M339/1/3/1-8.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438731.


Poor Law Unions

Manchester Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 562-569.
  2. 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 4,354 times.