Chelford, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Chelford

Guide to Chelford, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chelford St John Cheshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Chelford St John the Evangelist is an ancient chapelry in the Ancient Parish of Prestbury St Peter. It was the church for Old Withington from its foundation. The parish is the archdeaconry of Macclesfield and the deanery of Knutsford. Its modern benefice is combined with that of St Peter, Lower Withington.

The church dates from 1774–76 and the west tower was added in 1840

CHELFORD, is a chapelry, in the parish of Prestbury, the union and hundred of Macclesfield, N. division of the county of Chester, it is 5 miles (S. E. by E.) from Knutsford; it contains the township of Old Withington. Here is a station on the Manchester and Birmingham railway. The chapel, rebuilt in 1776.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church records

Chelford St John the Evangelist registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
Chelford St John the Evangelist Chapelry (1653) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1674-1752

FS PR's 1653-1909
  NONE
1674-1752
  NONE
1674-1894
  NONE
FS BT'S 1715-1903   NONE
1716-1734
  NONE
1715-1903
  NONE
FMP



1674-1894
1674-1894
JOIN
1674-1752

NBI

1674-1894
TGEN
1674-1752

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Prestbury, St. Peter (C of E). The ancient parish church for Old Withington.
Chelford, St. John the Evangelist (C of E). An ancient chapelry in Prestbury parish. Parish registers for Chelford, 1679-1934 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P182/1/1-2, P182/2, P182/3, P182/6129.

Microfilm copy of original filmed at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Marriages, 1679-1752. Baptisms, burials, 1679-1849. Burials, 1850-1894. BRITISH 2069042 Items 3 - 6
Baptisms, 1849-1934. BRITISH 2262741 Item 7

Bishop's transcripts for Chelford, 1839-1903 Cheshire Record Office: call number EDB 49 Microfilm of originals in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester.

Bishop's Transcript FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1839-1903. BRITISH 1647368 Item 1

 IGI coverage 1674-1794

The parish may be found in FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly Record Search) and further information about record sources can be found in The FamilySearch Catalog

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Macclesfield (1837–1937)
  • Cheshire East

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topigraphical Dictionary of England (1848) Date Accessed: 15 February 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:22.
  • This page has been accessed 5,189 times.