Chelsea Christ Church, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Chelsea Christ Church, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Christ Church was consecrated on 26th June 1839. It was originally a ‘Chapel of Ease’ to the parish church of St. Luke, Sydney Street, but was given its own parish in 1860.

In 1839 Chelsea was still an independent village separated from London by open countryside; however, there was pressure for development, particularly for the construction of streets of small cottages to house the numerous servants who were employed in the grand houses on Cheyne Walk and in the newly constructed streets and squares of Belgravia and Hans Town.

Christ Church was built as a church for these working class people and was designed to accommodate the maximum number of people at minimum cost. The construction cost was just over £4,000. (St. Luke’s Church, built 15 years earlier cost ten times this sum.)

The site for the new church was part of an extensive area of land used for market-gardening, just off Flood Street, which was then one of Chelsea’s main shopping streets.

(See this church's website for more historical background.)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Chelsea Christ Church, Middlesex Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.
Images
Indexes 1839-1840 BritishOrigins[1]
Unknown findmypast[2]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438803.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chelsea Christ Church on GENUKI

References

  1. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  2. 'Middlesex baptism records coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 29 September 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 December 2014, at 17:52.
  • This page has been accessed 4,131 times.