Chelsea St Luke, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Chelsea St Luke, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chelsea St Luke, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Kensington Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Chelsea PLU
Registration District Chelsea
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1745-56; 1803
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHELSEA,is a small village on the Thames. It is one of the smaller inner London parishes, lying in the Kensington Division of Ossulstone Hundred.[1]

Resources

Church records

Online Chelsea St Luke Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1558
1559
1559
Images
1559-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1754-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1914 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1558-1841 FamilySearch[6] 1559-1800
1865-1876
FamilySearch[7] 1559-1825 findmypast[8]


1559-1837 findmypast[9]



1639-1802 findmypast[10]



1639, 1752 1754-1800
1807
BritishOrigins[11]

    1803-1804
1807-1837
Ancestry[12]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438803.

1666 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

A 1921 survey of (1) monuments in the chancel, (2) monuments in the Lawrence chapel, (3) monuments in the More chapel, (4) monuments in the nave, (5) monuments in the tower, (5) floor slabs in the church, and (6) monuments in the churchyard is available online.[13]

Poor Law records

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Parish History

'CHELSEA, (1559) comprised the parishes of St. Luke and the more modern one of Holy Trinity, Sloane Street, Upper Chelsea (1830), both of which in 1851 were in the Kensington division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex. In addition to these two churches, Chelsea was comprised of a considerable number of additional chapels subdividing the parish boundary.

'Within this civil parish boundary lay the large Chelsea Royal Hospital for veteran (army) soldiers, "a handsome structure" erected by Sir Christophen Wren, with an operating chapel. The hospital held about 500 in-pensioners (in-house pensioners). In addition, another hospital, for soldiers awaiting admittance into Chelsea Royal Hospital, called York Hospital also lay within the parish.The parish included the Royal Military Asylum, built and founded in 1801. It was specifically built for the support of those children whose fathers were serving in foreign stations and for the education of orphaned children of soldiers, with a chapel.

'In the parish, there were places of worship forBaptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.'[14]

View a List of District Churches and Chapels Within the Parish of St Luke Chelsea.

The Victoria County History of Chelsea (2004) is available online. Includes chapters on landownership, economic history, social history, local government, religious history (Church of England, Roman Catholicism, Protestant nonconformity, foreign churches, and non-Christian faiths).[15]

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chelsea St Luke on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A. A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 12: Chelsea (2004), pp. 1-2. http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=28684 Adapeted. Date accessed: 08 August 2014.
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Luke, Chelsea in Kensington and Chelsea Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Chelsea St Luke in Kensington and Chelsea Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Chelsea St Luke in Kensington and Chelsea Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Chelsea St Luke in Kensington and Chelsea Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. Batches C067051, C067052, C067053, C067054, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  7. Batches M067051, M067052, M067053, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  8. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  9. "West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage," findmypast, accessed 8 March 2012.
  10. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  11. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  12. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  13. 'Chelsea Old Church: Monuments in the chancel', Survey of London: volume 7: Chelsea, part III: The Old Church (1921), pp. 14-28. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=99957 Date accessed: 15 March 2012.
  14. Samuel Lewis, ed. " Chedgrave - Cheltenham," In A Topographical Dictionary of England 562-569 . (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here.Date accessed: 13 November 2013.
  15. A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 12: Chelsea (2004). URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=182 Date accessed: 25 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 December 2014, at 18:12.
  • This page has been accessed 9,970 times.