Cheriton, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngKent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Cheriton, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cheriton, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Folkestone
County Kent
Poor Law Union Elham PLU
Registration District Elham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1812
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dover
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHERITON (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Elham, hundred of Folkestone, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 1 mile (W. N. W.) from Sandgate. Cheriton is a district of Folkestone and includes the terminal for the Channel tunnel. Cheriton Wikipedia

Cheriton was a civil parish from 1894 to 1898 when it was part of Elham Rural district and became a separate urban district. In 1934 this was abolished by a County review order and partly divided between Hythe and Folkestone.[1]

Cheriton St Martin is the original parish church of the Ancient Parish which now serves as the church for Shorncliffe Camp which includes Sir John Moore Barracks, Napier Barracks and Risbourgh Barracks.

The Parish Church of St Martin, Horn Street Cheriton Folkestone has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Kent Archeological Service and The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 188-197. at British History Online

All Souls Church was consecrated in January 1895 and was formed as an Ecclesiastical Parish within the Ancient parish see Church website short history and All Sould Church Cheriton

The church of All Souls, Cheriton High Street/Quested Road Folkestone has been designated as a grade C listed building.

Other places of worship in Cheriton include:

Cheriton Baptist Church High St Cheriton Folkestone see Cheriton Baptist Church history and the church website. See also Cheriton Baptist Church

St Joseph Roman Catholic Church Ashley Avenue St Joseph Roman Catholic Church

The Roman Catholic Chapel of the Most Holy Name, Sir John Moore Barracks, North Road, Folkestone dates from 1966 and  has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis. CHERITON (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Elham, hundred of Folkestone, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 1 mile (W. N. W.) from Sandgate; containing 1178 inhabitants. This parish, which comprises 1788a. 2r. 28p., and includes the principal portion of the chapelry of Sandgate, is intersected by the South-Eastern railway, and the Grand Military canal.[2]


Resources

Civil Registration

See Elham Registration District Folkestone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Cheriton, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5]
Cheriton, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1725-1912 1725-1912 1895-1905 (Banns) 1895-1905 (Banns) 1725-1812 1725-1812

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306872.


 

Poor Law Unions

Elham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 569-576. Date accessed: 15 July 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 569-576. Date accessed: 17 April 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 17:14.
  • This page has been accessed 5,881 times.