Cherokee County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Cherokee County

Guide to Cherokee County, Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Cherokee County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 9, 1836
County Seat Centre
Courthouse
Cherokee County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Cherokee County Courthouse
100 Main Street,
Centre, AL 35960
Phone:(256) 927-3637
County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Records burned in 1882 Probate Judge has marriage, probate,
land and military discharge records from 1882[1]

History

Parent County

1836--Cherokee County was created 9 January 1836 from the Cherokee Cession of 1835.
County seat: Centre [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Fire.png
Cherokee County had destructive courthouse fires in 1882 and 1895. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide  page 25 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Biography

Biographies of many notable residents of Cherokee County, Alabama were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 635.

Cemeteries

  • Cemetery Inscriptions Cherokee County, Alabama. 1964. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes Alexander Cemetery, Arrington Chapel Cemetery, Barnard Cemetery, Bethel Methodist Cemetery, Black Oak Church Cemetery, Cedar Hill Methodist Cemetery, Coffey Cemetery, Cothran Cemetery, Daniel Cemetery, Davis Chapel Cemetery, Dixon Chapel Cemetery, Goshen Cemetery, Hebron Methodist Cemetery, Hopewell Cemetery, Hopewell Advent Cemetery, Hunt's (or Brocks) Chapel Cemetery, Jamestown Cemetery, Kirks Grove Cemetery, Lebanon Church Cemetery, Lebanon Church Cemetery, Mackey Cemetery, McElrath Cemetery, Moshat Baptist Cemetery, Noah Baptist Cemetery, Mt. Lookout Cemetery, Mt. Olive Church Cemetery, Mt. Olive Church Cemetery, Mt. Zion Wesleyan Methodist Cemetery, Nazareth Church Cemetery, New Bethel Church Cemetery, Parker Grove Cemetery, Pleasant Hill Methodist Cemetery, Pleasant Hill Baptist Cemetery, Pratt Cemetery, Pleasant Valley Baptist Cemetery, Providence Baptist Cemetery, Salem Church Cemetery, Sand Rock Methodist Cemetery, Sardis Hill Missionary Baptist Cemetery, Sheppard Cemetery, Shiloh Baptist Cemetery, Smith Cemetery, Starling Cemetery, Story Cemetery, Tracy Cemetery, Tuckers Chapel Cemetery, Union Hill Methodist Cemetery, Weaver Cemetery, Welcome Hill Baptist Cemetery, and Yellow Creek Baptist Cemetery.
  • Cemetery Records: Barbour County with Cherokee & Lawrence Counties Alabama, Vol. 3. 1966. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes Pleasant Hill Methodist Church Cemetery (Leesburg, Ala.).

Additional Cherokee County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 6 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Census

For tips on accessing Cherokee County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Cherokee County, Alabama
Year Pop.  %±
1840 8,773
1850 13,884 58.3%
1860 18,360 32.2%
1870 11,132 −39.4%
1880 19,108 71.6%
1890 20,459 7.1%
1900 21,096 3.1%
1910 20,226 −4.1%
1920 20,862 3.1%
1930 20,219 −3.1%
1940 19,928 −1.4%
1950 17,634 −11.5%
1960 16,303 −7.5%
1970 15,606 −4.3%
1980 18,760 20.2%
1990 19,543 4.2%
2000 23,988 22.7%
2010 25,989 8.3%
Sources: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml.  through 1960

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Cherokee County, Alabama see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Cherokee County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.165 E7bg.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cherokee County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps

 Military 

Civil War

Civil War service men from Cherokee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Cherokee County.

- 4th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry (Russell's), Company B
- 7th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C
- 19th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D (Jake Curry Guards)
- 19th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E (Cherokee Guards)
- 19th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F (Davis Guards)
- 19th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G (Cherokee Mountaineers) 
- 19th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H (Cherokees)
- 19th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I (Cherokee Rangers)
- 22nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D
- 31st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A and C
- 47th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- 48th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H




Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cherokee County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Cherokee County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Cherokee County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

  • 1830-1976 - Cherokee County, Alabama Probate Records, 1830-1976 at FamilySearch - free.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Cherokee County is in District 3.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1821–1824, 1826–1837, 1841–1846, 1849, 1861, 1865–1872, 1874–1891, 1895–1898, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry– ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1836–1896 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920"at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Cherokee County has one book.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cherokee County p. 35. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 25. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igialabama.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:11.
  • This page has been accessed 28,929 times.