Cherokee County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow-kelly.png  Georgia  Gotoarrow-kelly.png  Cherokee County

Guide to Cherokee County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Cherokee County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Cherokee County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 26, 1831
County Seat Canton
Courthouse
Address Cherokee County Courthouse
90 N Street
Canton, GA 30114-2794
Phone: 770.479.1953
Cherokee County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Cherokee County Courthouse
90 N Street Canton, GA 30114-2794
Phone: 770.479.1953

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1833; Probate Court has birth, marriage, death, burial and probate records.[1]

Beginning Dates for Cherokee County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1833

History

Parent County

1831--Cherokee County was created 26 December 1831 from Cherokee Lands. County seat:  Canton [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

War.jpg
1864 and 1927. During the American Civil War federal troops destroyed the courthouse about 30 October 1864. The earliest marriage and probate records were apparently lost at that time. Significant county records including deeds survived.[3]

A later fire destroyed the courthouse on 10 March 1927, but county records were carried to safety.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cherokee County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gacherokee.jpg

Military

Cherokee County Soldiers in the Mexican War Georgia Pioneers ($).

Index to Georgia's Confederate Pension Supplements. compiled by Ted O. Brook and Linda Woodward Geiger  1999. 210 pages

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cherokee County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Annotated Obituaries from the Cherokee Advance, Canton, Georgia, 1880-1938. by John Carver, 2003. Over 600 pages.

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  Wills, Administrator's Bonds, Guardianships (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($).

  Index to Cherokee county Will Bk B 1848-1866 Georgia Pioneers ($).

  Index to Cherokee County Inventories, Appraisements, Vouchers, Sales, Annual Returns 1848-1852 Georgia Pioneers ($).

Abstracts of Cherokee County, Georgia, Wills and Bonds, 1847-1921. by John Carver 2005. Over 350 pages.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • 1841-1870 - Cherokee County Marriage Book D Index 1841-1870. Batch M712471 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1841-1910 - Cherokee County Marriages 1841-1910. compiled by John Carver 2002.  Groom & Bride lists. 320 pages
  • 1870-1884 - Cherokee County Marriage Book E Index 1870-1884. Batch M712472 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1884-1895 - Cherokee County Marriage Books F and G Index 1884-1895. Batch M712473 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death
  • 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Cherokee County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cherokee County, Georgia. Page 153 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 19-20. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 April 2014, at 22:39.
  • This page has been accessed 14,086 times.