Cherokee County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
North Carolina
Cherokee County
Guide to Cherokee County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Cherokee County, North Carolina | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of North Carolina | |||||||||
![]() Location of North Carolina in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | 1839 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Murphy | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
| | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
Cherokee County Courthouse
53 Peachtree
Murphy North Carolina 28906
Phone: 282-837-2613
Clerk Superior Court has divorce records,
Registrar of Deeds has land records[1]
History
Proud, resourceful people -- many descended from the Cherokee Indians who once lived in the region now known as Cherokee County -- welcome visitors to share their peaceful spot in the Blue Ridge Mountains, if only for a little while. It is no wonder why the Cherokees made the area their home or why they hid in the mountains when the Indian removal took place in 1838.
Hundreds of waterfalls and creeks, forests filled with wildflowers and tall pines wrapped in mountain breezes invite strangers to stay awhile and enjoy one of Mother Nature's finest creations.
Descendants of hearty Scottish and English settlers who married fine young Indian maidens carry on traditions from generations past. Descendants who never lived in Cherokee County venture back "home" to find their roots. Murphy, the county seat, offers a wealth of history at its courthouse, library and the Cherokee County Historical Museum which is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Travelers passing through the small communities surrounding the town of Murphy such as Hanging Dog, Culberson and Grape Creek may want to stay and experience the warmth of the people at the spring festival or the Christmas parade in Murphy or the fall festival at the John C. Campbell Folk School in nearby Brasstown.
Parent County
1839--Cherokee County was created 4 January 1839 from Macon County.
County seat: Murphy [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1865, 1895, 1926--Courthouse fires have destroyed many court records.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
- Clay
- Fannin County, Georgia
- Graham
- Macon
- Monroe County, Tennessee
- Polk County, Tennessee
- Union County, Georgia
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Cherokee County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
Newspapers
Probate
- 1869-1934 - Will Books A to B (1869-1934) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
Taxation
Vital Records
Marriage
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- NCGenWeb Cherokee County - many records of all kinds for the County
- Western NC Genealogy Resource Center - Census, Marriage, Birth & Death records, Cemetery,Military, and various other kinds of records for Cherokee County
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cherokee County, North Carolina. Page 507 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 May 2013, at 14:51.
- This page has been accessed 2,255 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


