Cherry County, NebraskaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Cherry County

Cherry County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Nebraska
Online Records

Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Cherry County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Cherry County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 23, 1883
County Seat Valentine
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Cherry County Courthouse
365 N. Main Street
Valentine, Nebraska 69201-0120
Phone: 402.376.2771

Contents

County Courthouse

Cherry County Courthouse
365 N Main Street PO Box 120
Valentine, Ne 69201
Phone. 402.376.2771

County Clerk has marriage and land records.
County Court has probate and court records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records. [1]

History

Early Settlers of County

Following the fur traders, soldiers, circuit riders, missionaries, and cattlemen in their westward trek, came the homestead settlers. Until January 1, 1863, a settler in Nebraska, which was then a territory, could make his home on 160 acres of government land. [2](See reference site for full article.)

     List of homesteaders' surnames (please add as found)

  • Weigel  

Parent County

1883--Cherry County was created 23 February 1883 from unorganized territory. County seat: Valentine [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Mt. Hope Cemetery, the largest cemetery within the city limits of Valentine, Nebraska. Some images can be found at: ancestry.com and nebraskagravestone.org

Census

For tips on accessing Cherry County, Nebraska census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cherry County, Nebraska. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

  • Here is the link to the local library for a catalog and contact information to the local library that contains history of the area:  Valentine Public Library. Marianne Beel has done a nice job on several Sandhill area local histories such as "Sand in my Shoes: Four decades of sandhill stories and history" found at the Valentine Public library: [1].

Maps

Necherry.png

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cherry County, Nebraska newspapers in online catalogs like:

The Valentine Midland News is the primary newspaper in the area. Information on this newspaper can be found at: Nebraska Press Association

Also, back issues of prior newspapers that have been microfilmed are available; index found at: NebraskaHistory.Org

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Adams - Probate records.

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cherry County, Nebraska page 429, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Early History of Cherry County, Nebraska"
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 05:10.
  • This page has been accessed 6,231 times.