Chesham, BuckinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Chesham, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chesham, Buckinghamshire
Chesham Parish Church.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Burnham
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Amersham PLU
Registration District Amersham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1575
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burnham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHESHAM (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, in the union of Amersham, hundred of Burnham, county of Buckingham, 3 miles (N.) from Amersham, and 29 (N. W. by W.) from London; comprising the hamlets of Asheridge, Ashley-Green, Bellingdon, Botley, Charteridge, Hundridge, Latimer, and Waterside. There are four places of worship for dissenters, two of which are for Baptists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chesham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
CHESHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1626-1837


FREG

1637-1837


JOIN

1538-1837


TGEN 1538-1636
1538-1636
1538-1636
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • General Baptist
  • General Baptist New Connexion
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Strict Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241213.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web site

Chesham on GENUKI

References

  1. From: Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 569-576. Date accessed and adapted 28 May 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Buckinghamshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 28 January 2014.
  4. 'Buckinghamshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 27 January 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - Buckinghamshire Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:40.
  • This page has been accessed 2,805 times.