Chester, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Chester)

EnglandGotoarrow.pngCheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngChester

Contents

Parish History

In 1870 - CHESTER, a city and two sub-districts in Great Boughton district, Cheshire; and a diocese in Cheshire and part of Lancashire. The city stands on the river Dee and on the Via Devana, 5 miles SE of the head of the Dee's estuary, and 16, through Birkenhead, SSE of Liverpool.
The places of worship within the city, in 1851, were 15 of the Church of England; 17 of dissenters; and 3 of other bodies. In 1869, besides the cathedral and some in the suburban parts, the Church of England, English Presbyterians, Independents, Baptists, Quakers, Unitarians, Wesleyans, N. Methodists, P. Methodists, Welsh Calvinists, and Roman Catholics. The livings in the city, or connected with it, are the rectories of, St. Peter, and Holy Trinity; the vicarages of St. John the Baptist, St. Oswald, Lache-with-Saltney, and Bruera; and the p. curacies of Little St. John, St. Paul, and Christ-Church. St. Martin is annexed to St. Bridget; St. Olave to St. Michael; Upton to St. Mary. on-the-Hill.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241252.

Church records

The individual parishes within Chester:

Chester parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Chester Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1687-1934




Lache with Saltney parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

LACHE WITH SALTNEY Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI

1857-1906


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Bennett collection, ca.1252-1955 Authors Bennett, J. H. E. (John Henry Elliot), 1873- (Main Author)
Broster, John Lawson, P. H. Richards, Raymond Of interest to Cheshire generally but specific Chester content includes:

On-line transcripts for the parishes of Chester St. John and Chester St Mary are available at Cheshire Parish Register project

Other content FHL Film
Cheshire Topography General 1:" (St. Oswald's Parish, Chester - notes and original records; includes numbered plan of parish burial grounds with list of tombstone inscriptions, i.e., names and general data for individuals buried there; includes also churchwardens accounts, overseers of the poor accounts, workhouse accounts, etc.);

BRITISH 375327
Item 5

Monumental Inscriptions:" (St. John the Baptist, Chester - inscriptions to the churchyard and church, and inscriptions not now to be found BRITISH 375328
Item 4
"Monumental Inscriptions:" (St. Mary-on-the-Hill, Chester, and Christleton, Backford and Shotwick in Cheshire - inscriptions in the churchyards and churches, and inscriptions not now extant BRITISH 375329
Item 1
"Monumental Inscriptions:" (St. Michael's, Chester, and Bruera, Eccleston, Dodleston, Plemstall [i.e., Plemonstall], and Pulford in Cheshire - inscriptions in the churchyards and churches, and inscriptions not now extant BRITISH 375329
Item 2
"Monumental Inscriptions:" (Aldford, Cheshire County; St. Bridget's, Chester; St. Martin's Chester; Llanidan, Anglesey, Wales - inscriptions in the church and on monuments, some now lost BRITISH 375329
Item 3
"Parish Register Transcript:" (St. John the Baptist, Chester - transcript of registers of baptisms, 1559-1779 BRITISH 375329
Item 4
"Parish Register Transcript:" (St. John the Baptist, Chester - transcript of registers of marriages, 1559-1793, and burials, 1560-1735 BRITISH 375330
Item 1
"C[hester] Misc. 1:" (extracts from Chester Corps. records - notes on ms. & printed works in the possession of Raymond Richards; 1640 rental of the Manor of Handbridge; 1664 hearth tax returns for Chester; includes lists of Chester freemen, 1784, 1805-1831; roll of Chester journeymen tailors, 1688- 1754; 1799 survey & valuation of lands and houses in parish of Holy Trinity, Chester); BRITISH 375330
Item 3
"C. Misc. 2:" (notes on Archdeacons of Chester, and Deans and Canons of St. John's, Chester; newspaper cuttings;, notes and articles on Chester and Chesley's history; seal impressions; notes on two mss. in possession of Raymond Richards; includes extracts from Papal register calendars, 1252-1431, list of electors from the 1733 poll book, etc.); "C. Misc. 3:" (list of parish register publications; parish register extracts relating to Bennett and other families; lecture notes of J.H.E.B.; correspondence; 1719-1720 calendar of 41 Chester marriage licences; etc.); "C. Misc. 4:" (list of sources consulted for genealogical and historical research; notes on Chester Corps., Diocesan registry, probate registry, and St. Joseph probate registry records; notes of reference to Chester and Cheshire history in various printed works; includes index to lay subsidy rolls, Chester, 15 Henry VIII - 30 Charles II) BRITISH 375331
Item 1-3
"Cuttings book no. 3:" (newspaper clippings, as listed in detailed table of contents; includes note of intended removal of headstones and gravestones, Christ Church, Chester). BRITISH 375332
Item 2

Non Conformist Churches

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Chester, but the exact parish has not been identified:

  • Baptist
  • Presbyterian
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • United Presbyterian Church of Scotland
  • Chester, St. Werburgh (Roman Catholic), Grosvenor Park Road. Built in 1875, replacing Queens Street Chapel (built c.1800). Registers of baptisms 1794–1956, marriages 1827–1973 and burials 1861–1923 are at the Cheshire Record Office. Indexes to baptisms 1790–1956 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Catholic Church
  • Wesleyan
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Congregational
  • Calvinistic Methodist

Church records for St. Francis of Assissi Catholic Church, Chester, 1859-1943 Cheshire Record Office call no.: ERC 11/5100/1-7.

Church records: St. Francis of Assissi Catholic Church, Chester Film
Baptisms, 1859-1911
2068140 Items 7-8
Baptisms, 1911-1943 (from Sept. 1911) Marriages, 1865-1921 Burials, 1860-1913
2068141 Items 1-6

Church records for St. Werburgh's Catholic Church, Chester, 1794-1993 Cheshire Record Office call no.: ERC 3/5066/1-17.

Church records for St. Werburgh's Catholic Church, Chester Film
Baptisms, 1794-1826 (Includes dates of births, and marriages, 1822-1827.) (Title board incorrectly identifies as St. Francis' Church.)
2068141 Item 7
Baptisms, 1826-1905
2068142
Baptisms, 1905-1935
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2068143
Baptisms, 1935-1956 Marriages, 1827-1856
2068144
Marriages, 1857-1973 Burials, 1861-1891
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2068145
Burials, 1891-1993
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2068146

Church records for the Central Hall City Road Wesleyan Methodist chapel, Chester, 1900-1952 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: ZCR 55/2/34-36.

Church records: Central Hall City Road Wesleyan Methodist chapel, Chester

Film
Marriages, 1900-1926.
2299384 Items 3 - 5
Marriages, 1926-1952.
2299384 Items 8 - 9

Church records for the City Temple, Hunter Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Chester, 1916-1948 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: ZCR 270/7-8.

Church records: City Temple, Hunter Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Chester Film
Marriages, 1916-1948.
2299384 Items 14 - 15

Church records for the George Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Chester, 1917-1955 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: ZCR 270/1-4.

Church records: George Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Chester Film
Marriages, 1917-1955.
2299384 Items 10 - 13

Church records for the Milton Green Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Chester, 1909-1954 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: ZCR 270/12, CR 55/2/88.

Church records: Milton Green Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Chester Film
Marriages, 1909-1954
2299384 Item 16
Baptisms, 1916-1954.
2299384 Item 21

Church records for the Northgate Congregational Church, Chester, 1906-1953 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: ZCR 416/4-7.

Church records:Northgate Congregational Church, Chester Film
Marriages, 1906-1953.
2299551 Items 3 - 6

Church records for the Primitive Methodist chapel, Chester, 1845-1959 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: ZCR 55/2/134-135.

Church records: Primitive Methodist chapel, Chester Film
Baptisms, 1845-1959.
2299384 Items 6 - 7

Church records for the Queen Street Congregational Chapel, Chester, 1772-1923 Public Record Office call no.: RG-4 series no. 160; Cheshire Record Office call nos.: ZCR 151/1, 10, 16-17.

Church records: Queen Street Congregational Chapel, Chester Film
Births and baptisms, 1803-1837.
20046 Item 5
List of members, 1772-1813. Baptisms, 1848-1855, 1861; marriages, 1848-1855; burials, 1848-1854. Roll of church members, 1815-1896; marriages, 1880-1888; births and baptisms, 1862-1888; burials, 1880. Roll of church members, 1835-1836, 1848, 1862-1919; church minutes, 1923; baptisms, 1909-1910.
2299417 Items 1 - 4

Church records for the Queen Street Welsh Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Chester, 1900-1965 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: CR 286/1-2.

Church records: Queen Street Welsh Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Chester Film
Marriages, 1900-1965
2299384 Items 19 - 20

Church records for the Tarvin Road Primitive Methodist Chapel, Chester, 1921-1948 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: ZCR 506/1-2.

Church records:Tarvin Road Primitive Methodist Chapel, Chester Film
Marriages, 1921-1948
2299384 Items 17 - 18

Presbyterian Church records, 1651-1855 RG-4 series nos. 3755, 2090, 161.

Presbyterian Church records Film
Church records
20046 Items 6-8
Another filming of baptisms, 1713-1832, and burials, 1791-1831. London : Public Record Office, 1986. on 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm.
1482417 Item 2

Church records Primitive Methodist Chapel, 1825-1837.  Primitive Methodist Church is on Steam Mil.l Street Microfilm of original records at the Public Record Office, London.RG-4 series no. 575.

Church records: Primitive Methodist Chapel Film
Church records
20046 Item 10

Church records Calvinistic Methodis Octogon Chapel 1805-1835 RG-4 series no. 70.

Church records: Calvinistic Methodist Octogon Chapel Film
Church records Births and baptisms, 1805-1835
20046 Item 11

Calvinistic Methodist Mount Zion Chapel Church records, 1805-1837 RG-4 series no. 4417.

Church records: Calvinistic Methodist Mount Zion Chapel Film
Church records Contains births and baptisms, 1805-1837
20046 Item 12
Another filming. London : Public Record Office, 1986. on 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm.
1482442 Item 9

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Great Boughton

Poor Law Unions

  • Chester Incorporation Poor Law union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 15 February 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 7,467 times.