Chester Cathedral Church Precinct, CheshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England Cheshire Cheshire Parishes Chester Cathedral Church Precinct See "A Comprehensive List of Chester Chapels and District Chapelries.
CHESTER CATHEDRAL (St Werbugh) church is an ecclesiastical parish, in Great Boughton district, Cheshire; and a diocese in Cheshire and part of Lancashire. The city stands on the river Dee and on the Via Devana, 5 miles SE of the head of the Dee's estuary, and 16, through Birkenhead, SSE of Liverpool.
The parishes ofSt. Bridget (see also St Martin); St. John the Baptist (see also Bought St Paul's), Little St. John, extra-parochial;St. Martin; St. Michael; St. Olave; and St. Peter; part of the parishes of St. Mary on the Hill, St. Oswald, and the Holy Trinity; and the precinct of the Cathedral Close (St Werburgh). The parish of St. Bridget's is a rectory united with that of St Martin's. St. Oswald's is a discharged vicarage, joined with the chapelry of Churton-Heath (annexed and which see). An additional church, dedicated to St. Paul, has been erected at Boughton. In New Town, likewise, is a church, dedicated to Christ [Church], built in 1835. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, the Connexion of the Countess of Huntingdon, Independents, Welsh and Wesleyan Methodists, New Connexion of Methodists, Sandemanians, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics.
For fuller list of all pre-1875 Chester City parishes serving within the parish boundary, see Church Records below.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241255. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Church of England
Chester Cathedral (St Mary's) registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed and made searchable online, as follows:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Chester Cathedral Church Precinct St Mary (1687) Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1688-1911
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
St Mary (formerly dedicated to St Werburgh) Cathedral in the City of Chester was comprised of the following pre-1880 ecclesiastical churches, chapelries and district chapels attached to it:
- St Bridget (see also St Martin) - 1560
- St John the Baptist - 1559 (also see Boughton St Paul's)
- Little St John (extra-parochial) - part of (see) The Cathedral
- St Martin - 1600
- St Michael - 1581
- St Olave - 1599
- St Peter - 1588
- St Mary on the Hill (part) - 1547
- St Oswald (part) - 1581
- Holy Trinity - 1599
- Precinct of the Cathedral Close - 1687 (St Werburgh)
- Boughton St Paul - 1838
- Churton-Heath Chapelry - (part of St Oswald's) - 1838
- Lache-with-Saltney - 1873
- New Town Christ Church - 1838
- Upton Chapelry - 1853
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Non Conformist Churches
There were places of worship for the following Nonconformist denominations:
- Baptists - by 1847
- Calvinistic Methodist - 1805
- Connexion of the Countess of Huntingdon
- Independents (Congregational) - 1772
- New Connexion Methodists - 1825 (Primitive Meth.)
- Presbyterians - 1651
- Roman Catholics - 1794
- Sandemanians -
- Society of Friends
- Welsh Methodists - 1900
- Wesleyan Methodists - 1806
- Unitarians -
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage a nd death indexes available:
Civil Registration Districts
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish. see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Wilson, John Marius, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 15 February 2013
- ↑ Wilson, John Marius, Imperial Gazetteer of England (1871-72) Date Accessed: 15 March 2013
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., , A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 76-586. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 April 2013.
- ↑ 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 76-586. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 April 2013.
- This page was last modified on 8 November 2013, at 21:46.
- This page has been accessed 857 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More