Chester Christ Church, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Chester Christ Church
Christ Church Chester.jpg

Contents

Parish History

In 1870 - CHESTER, a city and two sub-districts in Great Boughton district, Cheshire; and a diocese in Cheshire and part of Lancashire. The city stands on the river Dee and on the Via Devana, 5 miles SE of the head of the Dee's estuary, and 16, through Birkenhead, SSE of Liverpool. One of the livings in the city, or connected with is, Christ-''Church".[1]

Chester Christ Church, Somerset Street, Chester is an ecclesiastical parish created in 1843 a former chapel of  Chester St Oswald, Cheshire  It is a Grade II listed building, and continues to be an active Anglican church in the archdeaconry of Chester and the deanery of Chester. Its benefice is combined with that of St Michael, Plas Newton.

The present church was built to replace an earlier church dated 1838 on the site which has been designed by Thomas Jones. It was built in separate stages between 1876 and 1900 to designs by John Douglas. A southwest steeple was planned but was never built.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241252.

Church records

Chester Christ Church chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Chester Christ Church Chapelry (1838) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1838-1909
  NONE
1871-1934
  NONE
1839-1854
  NONE
FS BT'S 1855-1876   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Christ Church, Chester, 1838-1949 Cheshire Record Office reference: P17/1/1-7, P17/2/1-5, P17/3.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records

Parish Register Christ Church
Film
Baptisms, 1838-1903 BRITISH 1999760 Items 3 - 8
Baptisms, 1903-1906. Marriages, 1871-1917. Burials, 1839-1854 BRITISH 1999761 Items 1 - 4
Baptisms, 1906-1942. Marriages, 1917-1949 VAULT BRITISH 2262789 Items 4 - 7

Bishop's transcripts for Christ Church, Chester, 1855-1876

Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 51

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records

Bishop’s Transcripts Christ Church
FHL Film
Baptisms, 1855, 1857-1876. BRITISH 1647368 Item 3

Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1870–1998)
  • Cheshire West (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Chester Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bibliography

 Hubbard, Edward (1991). The Work of John Douglas. London: The Victorian Society. p. 131. ISBN 0 901657 16 6.
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 150–151, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

Webpages

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 15 February 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 3,119 times.