Chester Holy Trinity, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png  Chester Holy Trinity

Contents

History

BLACON, with Crab-wall, a township, in the parish of Holy Trinity, Chester, union of Great Boughton, Higher division of the hundred of Wirrall, S. division of the county of Chester, 2 miles (W. N. W.) from Chester. The manor appears to have been in the Mainwaring family at the time of the Domesday survey.[1]

Chester, Holy Trinity , Watergate Street is an an ancient parish church, also serving part of the township of Blacon cum Crabwall.

Replaced 1960 by Holy Trinity-without-the Walls in Norris Road, Blacon


Guildhall, Chester.JPG

The Guildhall, formerly Holy Trinity Church, is a redundant church in Watergate in the city of Chester, Cheshire, England . It is a Grade II listed building. In the early 1960s it was converted into the Guildhall.

The original building, which had a north aisle, probably dated from the 14th century. The east end and south side were rebuilt in 1680. This church had a spire which was rebuilt in the 1770s but in 1811 was taken down for reasons of safety. The present church was built between 1865 and 1869 to a design by James Harrison. He died before it was finished and the church was completed by the firm of Kelly and Edwards of Chester.

Resources

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241256.

Church Records

Chester Holy Trintiy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Chester Holy Trinity Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
JOIN

1598-1837


PALL

1790-1837


FS PR's 1656-1909  NONE 1654-1934  NONE 1656-1854  NONE
FS BT's 1599-1893  NONE 1599-1854  NONE 1599-1854  NONE

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Holy Trinity Church, Chester, 1654-1938, Cheshire Record Office call no.: P 1/1-2, 4, 6, 8; P 1/3063/1/1-5, P 1/3, 5, 7; P 1/3063/2/1-7; P 1/9-10.

Parish Registers: Holy Trinity Church Film
Baptisms, 1656-1725; marriages, 1654-1720; burials, 1656-1721. Baptisms, burials, 1722-1764; marriages, 1722-1754. Baptisms, burials, 1765-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1859.
2068258
Baptisms, May 1859-1925. Marriages, 1796-1812, 1754-1795, 1813-1845.
2068259
Marriages, August 1845-1926.
2068300
Marriages, 1926-1938. Burials, 1813-1854.
2068301 Items 1 - 4
Banns of marriage, 1865-1912.
2068306 Item 10

Registers of Baptisms 1656–1925, Marriages 1654–1939 and Burials 1656–1854 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office.

Bishop's transcripts Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 52.

Content Bishop's Transcripts: Holy Trinity Church
Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1637
FHL BRITISH Film 1894521 Item 7
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1599-1601, 1604, 1610-1611, 1663, 1614, 1619, 1616-1618, 1622-1623, 1625, [no date], 1627-1635, 1639, 1641, 1660, 1664, 1667-1677, 1679-1685, 1690, 1695-1696, 1700-1711, [no date], 1714-1721, 1723-1813, 1815-1816, baptisms, 1817-1824, marriages, 1817-1824, burials, 1817-1824, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1825-1829, 1834, baptisms, 1836-1839, marriages, 1836-1839, burials, 1836-1839, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1840-1843, baptisms, marriage, 1844
FHL BRITISH Film 1655478 Item 2

Marriages, burials, 1844, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1845-1854, baptisms, 1855-1893
FHL BRITISH Film 1655479 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Civil Registration Districts

  • Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1870–1998)
  • Cheshire West (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Chester Poor Law Union

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848. Date Accessed: 19 March 2013
  2. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

Bibliography

Hubbard, Edward (1991). The Work of John Douglas. London: The Victorian Society. p. 131. ISBN 0 901657 16 6.
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 150–151, ISBN 0 300 09588 0


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,092 times.