Chester Little St John, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Chester Little St John

Contents

Parish History

In 1870 - CHESTER, a city and two sub-districts in Great Boughton district, Cheshire; and a diocese in Cheshire and part of Lancashire. The city stands on the river Dee and on the Via Devana, 5 miles SE of the head of the Dee's estuary, and 16, through Birkenhead, SSE of Liverpool. One of the livings withing the parish is Little St John.[1]

Chester Little St John Upper Northgate Sreet was built as a chapel of ease to the Ancient parish of St John The Baptist Chester in 1717.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241255.

Church records

Chester Little St. John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Chester Little St. John Extra-Parochial Place No Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

There are no marriages or burials here. 

Cheshire Record Office Reference P 103
 Chester Little St John Parish
Description Registers: Christenings 1928-1948
URL http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-p103&cid=0

also Cheshire Record Office Reference ZCR 36  Title CHESTER, LITTLE ST. JOHN'S CHURCH

Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Civil Registration Districts

Poor Law Unions

Chester Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 19 March 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,886 times.