Chester St Bridget, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Chester St Bridget

Contents

Parish History

In 1870 - CHESTER, a city and two sub-districts in Great Boughton district, Cheshire; and a diocese in Cheshire and part of Lancashire. The city stands on the river Dee and on the Via Devana, 5 miles SE of the head of the Dee's estuary, and 16, through Birkenhead, SSE of Liverpool.
The places of worship within the city, in 1851, were 15 of the Church of England; one of them being St. Bridget.[1]

Chester, St. Bridget (C of E). An ancient parish serving part of the city centre, closed in 1973.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241255.

Church records

Chester St. Bridget parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Chester St. Bridget Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1644-1909
  NONE
1655-1934
  NONE
 1653-1888
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. Bridget's Church, Chester, 1649-1954 Berkshire Record Office no.: P15/1/1-3, P15/2/1-2, P15/3/1-9, P15/5/1-2, P15/4/1-3.

Parish Registers: St. Bridget's Church Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1649-1710. Baptisms, burials, 1711-1779; marriages, 1711-1754. Baptisms, burials, 1780-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1933. Marriages, 1754-1858.
2045836
Marriages, 1858-1926. Banns, 1868-1903. Burials, 1813-1896.
2045837 Items 1 - 8
Marriages, 1926-1954.
2262789 Items 1 - 3

Registers of Baptisms 1649–1972, Marriages 1649–1972 and Burials 1649–1896 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office.

Bishop's transcripts for St. Bridget's Church, Chester, St. Martin's Church, Chester,  Some text in Latin. Includes St. Martin's Church after 1842. Cheshire Record Office refernce: EDB 53

Bishop's transcripts: St. Bridget's Church, St. Martin's Church Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600-1601, 1603, 1604, 1611-1613, 1616, 1622, 1624-1625, 1629-1632, 1637, 1639-1642, 1647, 1663, 1666, 1668-1685, 1691-1728, 1730-1735, 1737-1803, 1805-1836. Baptisms, burials, 1837-1842. Baptisms, January-May 1843 FHL BRITISH Film 1655479 Item 2
Baptisms, 1843-1856, 1858-1894, 1896. Burials, 1843-1856, 1858-1881, 1883, 1887-1888, 1891, 1896. FHL BRITISH Film 1655480 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage a nd death indexes available:

Civil Registration Districts

  • Great Boughton

Poor Law Unions

Chester Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 15 February 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 2,413 times.