Chester St John the Baptist, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Chester St John the Baptist
St John Church Chester.jpg

Contents

Parish History

In 1870 - CHESTER, a city and two sub-districts in Great Boughton district, Cheshire; and a diocese in Cheshire and part of Lancashire. The city stands on the river Dee and on the Via Devana, 5 miles SE of the head of the Dee's estuary, and 16, through Birkenhead, SSE of Liverpool.
The places of worship within the city, in 1851, were 15 of the Church of England; one of them was St. John the Baptist.[1]

Chester, St. John the Baptist, Vicars Lane. An ancient parish church, originally serving part of the city centre and a small part of Hoole

St John the Baptist's Church, Chester is in the city of Chester,although it lies outside the city walls on a cliff above the north bank of the River Dee.

The church was reputedly founded by King Aethelred in 689. During the 11th century, Earl Leofric was a "great benefactor" of the church. In 1075 Peter, Bishop of Lichfield moved the seat of his see to Chester, making St John's his cathedral until he died in 1085. Peter's successor moved his seat to Coventry and St John's became a co-cathedral.

The exterior of the church contains a few tombstones that remain in their original positions. The vast majority of the gravestones have now been repositioned and laid to the ground forming the footpaths immediately in front of the church. In 2009 a research project recorded the inscriptions on the remaining tombs and gravestones.

St John East Ruins Chester contributor David Dixon.jpg

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241255.

Church records

Chester St John the Baptist, Cheshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
CHESTER ST JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
CPR To 1871
To 1871
To 1871
JOIN

1559-1837


FS PR's 1815-1852  NONE   NONE  NONE  NONE  NONE
FS BT's 1694-1879  NONE  1662-1837  NONE 1663-1839  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.  Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. John's Church, Chester 1559-1956 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P 51/1/1-4, P 51/2/1, 7-10, P 51/24/1-4, P 51/3/1-21, P 51/4/1-5, P 51/5/5, P 51/6.

Parish Registers St John's Church Film
Baptisms, 1559-1686; marriages, 1559-1639, 1651-1686; burials, 1560-1687; churchwardens accounts, 1660-1681. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1687-1735. Baptisms, 1735-1789; burials, 1735.
2045920 Items 2 - 4
Burials, 1735-1789; marriages, 1735-1754; baptisms, 1777. Baptisms, burials, 1790-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1829.
2045921
Baptisms, 1829-1878.
2045922
Baptisms, 1878-1908. Baptisms (St. Barnabas' mission), 1877-1918. Marriages, 1754-1795.
2045950
Marriages, 1796-1839.
2045951
Marriages, 1839-1857.
2045952
Marriages, 1857-1870.
2045953
Marriages, 1870-1886.
2045954
Marriages, 1886-1919.
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2045955
Marriages, 1919-1923. Burials, 1813-1863
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2045956
Burials, 1863-1875, 1881-1915. Graveyard inscriptions, ca. 1750-1900. Copy register of baptisms and burials, 1792-1813. Baptisms, 1908-1926. Marriages, 1923-1938.
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2045957 Items 1 - 5
Baptisms, 1908-1940 (another filming to 1926).
2093666 Items 3 - 4
Marriages, 1923-1938.
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2262789 Item 8
Marriages, 1938-1956.
2262873 Item 1

Registers of Baptisms 1559–1940, Marriages 1559–1956 and Burials 1559–1915 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office.

Bishop's Transcripts Microfilm of originals in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester reference: EDB 54

Bishops Transcripts St John the Baptist's Church
Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1599-1601, 1604-1605, 1610-1614, 1617-1618, 1622-1630, 1633-1635, 1637, 1662-1663, 1677-1691, 1693-1722, 1725-1728, 1731, 1733-1736, 1739-1742, 1744-1766, 1769-1796, 1798-1808 BRITISH 1655480 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1808-1839, baptisms, 1875-1878
BRITISH 1655481 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

|}

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Civil Registration Districts

  • Great Boughton

Poor Law Unions

Chester Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Bibliography

  • Clifton-Taylor, Alec (1974), English Parish Churches as Work of Art, London: Batsford, ISBN 0 7134 2776 0
  • Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, ISBN 0 907768 18 0
  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Hubbard, Edward (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford
  • Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, ISBN 1871731232
  • Ward, Simon (2009), Chester: A History, Chichester: Phillimore, ISBN 978 1 86077 499 7

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 15 February 2013
  2. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 3,215 times.