Chester St Martin, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Chester St Martin, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Chester Incorporation PLU
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1649; Separate registers exist for Chester St Martin beginning 1671
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Chester St Martin beginning 1700
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

In 1870 description of CHESTER, a city and two sub-districts in Great Boughton district, Cheshire; and a diocese in Cheshire and part of Lancashire. The city stands on the river Dee and on the Via Devana, 5 miles SE of the head of the Dee's estuary, and 16, through Birkenhead, SSE of Liverpool.
The places of worship within the city, in 1851, were 15 of the Church of England; one of these was St. Martin it is annexed to St. Bridget.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church records

Chester St Martin parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Chester St Martin Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1671-1842 NONE
1681-1842 NONE
1680-1812 NONE
FS BT'S 1617-1841
NONE
1617-1840
NONE
1617-1842
NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. Martin's Church, Chester, 1671-1963 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P16/1/1-2, 2/1-3, 3/1-5, 4/1-2.

Parish Registers: St. Martin's Church Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1671-1744. Baptisms, burials, 1744-1797; marriages, 1744-1753. Baptisms, 1798-1842, 1910-1963.
1999761 Items 5 - 9
Marriages, 1754-1842. Burials, 1798-1842.
1999762 Items 1 - 7

Bishop's transcripts, Bishop's transcripts for St. Martin's Church, Chester, 1600-1842 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 55

Bishops Transcripts: St. Martin's Church Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600-1691, [1603?], 1611-1612, [1620?], [no date], 1616-1617, 1622, 1624, [no date], 1629-1632, 1635, 1638-1669-1670, 1666, 1670-1677, 1679-1686, 1688-1723, 1725, 1724, 1727-1728, 1726-1727, 1728-1744, 1746-1777, 1785-1786, 1781-1783, 1785, 1784-1789, 1798-1799, 1790-1793, 1795, 1794, 1796-1797, 1799-1813, 1815, 1814, 1816-1825, baptisms, 1826, marriages, (January-July) 1826.
1655481 Item 2
Marriages, (May-December) 1826, burials, 1826, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1827-1833, 1835, 1834, 1836-1840, baptisms, burials, 1842, 1841.
1655535 Item 1
Non Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Civil Registration Districts
  • Great Boughton

Poor Law Unions

  • Chester

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chester St Martin on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 15 February 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,700 times.