Chester St Mary on the Hill, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Chester St Mary on the Hill
St Mary Church Chester 2.jpg

Contents

Parish History

A description of Chester in 1870 - a city and two sub-districts in Great Boughton district, Cheshire; and a diocese in Cheshire and part of Lancashire. The city stands on the river Dee and on the Via Devana, 5 miles SE of the head of the Dee's estuary, and 16, through Birkenhead, SSE of Liverpool.
The places of worship within the city, in 1851, were 15 of the Church of England; one of the parishes  St. Mary on the Hill.[1]

An ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Claverton, Little Mollington, Marlston cum Lache, Moston (near Chester), Upton by Chester and part of the city of Chester. The original church was closed in 1887 and replaced by St. Mary without the Walls in Overleigh Road.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241255.

Church records

Chester St Mary on the Hill, Cheshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
CHESTER ST MARY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
CPR To 1871
To 1871
To 1871
JOIN

1601-1837


FS PR's
   NONE
 NONE
   NONE
 NONE
  NONE
 NONE
FS BT's
1786-1806
 NONE
1786-1867
 NONE
1786-1804
 NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Registers of Baptisms 1628–1984, Marriages 1630–1975 and Burials 1628–1854 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office.  Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. Mary's Church, Chester, 1628-1953 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P 20/1/1-4, P 20/2/1-8, P 20/3/1-24, P 20/4/1-4.

Parish Registers: St. Mary's Church, Chester Film
Baptisms, 1628-1701; marriages, 1630-1700; burials, 1628-1706. Baptisms, 1701-1740; burials, 1706-1740; marriages, 1700-1740. Baptisms, 1740-1782; burials, 1740-1744.
2045839
Burials, 1744-1782; marriages, 1741-1754. Baptisms, 1776-1812; burials, 1782-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1836.
2045840
Baptisms, 1836-1922. Marriages, 1754-1766.
2045841
Marriages, 1766-1772, 1789-1805, 1772-1789, 1805-1822.
2045842
Marriages, 1822-1849.
2045843
Marriages, 1849-1866.
2045844
Marriages, 1866-1888.
2045845
Marriages, 1889-1921. Burials, 1813-1854. Memorial inscriptions within Church, ca. 1500-ca. 1900 (Some Latin.).
2045846
Marriages, 1921-1953.
2262873 Items 2 - 5

Bishop's transcripts for St. Mary's-on-the-Hill Church, Chester, 1601-1894
Bishop's Trancripts Cheshire Record Office reference :EDB 56

Bishop's Transcript: St. Mary's-on-the-Hill Church, Chester, FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1601, 1604-1605, 1616, 1622, 1624-1625, 1627, 1630-1631, 1663-1664, 1666, 1668-1675, 1677-1795, 1798, 1800, 1802-1817. Baptisms, 1818. Marriages, Jan-Apr 1818. BRITISH 1655535 Item 2
Baptisms, 1819-1838. Marriages, Mar 1818-May 1838. Burials, 1818-1837. BRITISH 1655536
Baptisms, 1839-1856, 1860. Marriages, May-December- Feb 1856. Burials, 1838-1854. BRITISH 1655537
Baptisms, 1857-1872. Marriages, Feb 1856- Nov 1872. BRITISH 1655538
Baptisms, 1873-1894. Marriages, Nov 1872-1873. 1655539 Item 1

Non Conformist Churches

Not known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Civil Registration Districts

Poor Law Unions

Chester Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 15 February 2013
  2. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 4,191 times.