Chester St Michael with St Olave, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Chester St Michael with St Olave, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Chester Incorporation PLU
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1581; Separate registers exist for Chester St Olave beginning 1611
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Chester St Olave beginning 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

A description in 1870 of CHESTER, a city and two sub-districts in Great Boughton district, Cheshire; and a diocese in Cheshire and part of Lancashire. The city stands on the river Dee and on the Via Devana, 5 miles SE of the head of the Dee's estuary, and 16, through Birkenhead, SSE of Liverpool. The places of worship within the city, in 1851, were 15 of the Church of England; St. Olave to St. Michael was among them.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241255.

Church records

Chester St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
CHESTER ST MICHAEL PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
JOIN

1813-1837


FS PR's
 NONE
 NONE
 NONE
 NONE
 NONE
 NONE
FS BT's
 NONE
 NONE
 NONE
 NONE
1661-1801
 NONE

Chester St Olave parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

CHESTER ST OLAVE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
JOIN

1816-1834


FS PR's
1654-1861
 NONE
1654-1861
 NONE
1654-1848
 NONE
FS BT's
  NONE
 NONE
 NONE
 NONE
1750-1846
 NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Parish registers for St. Michael's Church, Chester, 1581-1951 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P 65/1/1-2, P 65/2/1-4, P 65/3/1-4, P 65/4/1-2, P 65/5.

Parish Registers: St. Michael's Church, Chester, Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1581-1754. Marriages, 1754-1807. Burials, 1754-1812. Burials, 1754-1815. Baptisms, 1813-1951. Marriages, 1807-1837.
2045915 Items 2 - 9
Marriages, 1837-1941. Banns, 1823-1901. Burials, 1813-1848.
2045916 Items 1 - 5

Parish registers for St. Olave's Church, Chester, 1611-1861

Parish Registers: St. Olave's Church, Chester Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1611-1686, 1740-1790. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1686-1740. Baptisms, burials, 1791-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1861. Marriages, 1754-1861. Burials, 1813-1849.
1999758 Items 4 - 12

Bishop's transcripts for St. Michael's Church, Chester and St. Olave's Church, Chester, 1600-1876 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 57.

Bishops Transcripts: St. Michael's Church, Chester and St. Olave's Church, Chester Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600-1601, 1604, 1611, 1613-1615, 1622, 1624, 1627-1635, 1637, 1639-1642, [1661?], 1663, 1666-1677, 1679-1685, 1690-1691, 1693-1700, 1702, 1705, 1704, 1703, 1701, 1706-1711, 1714, 1713, 1712, [171-?], [1720?], 1719, 1718, 1717, 1716, 1722, 1721, 1725, 1724, 1723, 1726-1727, 1730, 1729, 1728, 1732, 1731, 1737, 1736, 1735, 1734, 1733, 1739-1743, 1746, 1748-1816, 1828-1829, 1831-1839, baptisms, 1868, 1876.
1655539 Item 2

Bishop's transcripts for St. Olave's Church, Chester, 1599-1846 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 58

Bishops Transcripts: St. Olave's Church, Chester Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1599-1600, [1601?], 1604, 1602, [1606?], 1614, 1617-1618, 1622, 1624-1625, 1629, 1632, 1630, 1638-1640, 1668, 1670-1671, 1669, 1672-1677, 1679-1686, 1691, 1693-1774, 1776, 1775, 1777-1817, burials, 1818-1821, marriages, 1818-1821, baptisms, 1818-1821, marriages, 1822, 1824, 1821, burials, 1822-1823, baptisms, 1822, 1823, 1822, 1824, marriages, 1824, burials, 1824-1825, baptisms, 1825-1826, marriages, 1826, burials, 1826-1830, baptisms, 1827-1830, marriages, 1827-1830, baptisms, 1831-1838, marriages, 1832-1834, burials, 1831-1846, baptisms, 1838-1846.
1655539 Item 3
Non Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Great Boughton

Poor Law Unions

  • Chester

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chester St Michael on GENUKI

Chester St Olave on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 15 February 2013
  2. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 2,378 times.