Chester St Oswald, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Chester St Oswald

Contents

Parish History

CHESTER, a city and two sub-districts in Great Boughton district, Cheshire; and a diocese in Cheshire and part of Lancashire. The city stands on the river Dee and on the Via Devana, 5 miles SE of the head of the Dee's estuary, and 16, through Birkenhead, SSE of Liverpool.  The places of worship within the city, in 1851, were 15 of the Church of England; one of them was St. Oswald.[1]

Chester St Oswald Queen Street. is an ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Bache, Blacon cum Crabwall (part), Churton Heath, Croughton, Great Boughton, Huntington, Iddinshall, Lea Newbold, Newton by Chester, Saighton, Upton by Chester (part), Wervin, and part of the city of Chester. Closed in 1881 and replaced as the parish church by St.Thomas of Canterbury, Parkgate Street.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241256.

Church records

Chester St Oswald parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Chester St Oswald Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1810


FS PR's
1580-1909
 NONE
1581-1934
 NONE
1583-1854
 NONE
FS BT's
1699-1818
 NONE
1699-1818
 NONE
1699-1817
 NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
Parish registers for St. Oswald's Church, Chester, 1581-1969

Parish Registers: St. Oswald's Church, Chester Cheshire Record Office call no.: P29/1/1-6, P29/2/1-8, P29/3/1-23, P29/16/1-3, P29/4/1-5. Film
Baptisms, 1580-1668; burials, 1583-1668; marriages, 1581-1627, 1635-1668. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1668-1686. Baptisms, 1686-1717; marriages, 1686-1720; burials, 1686-1690.
2068352
Burials, 1690-1720; baptisms, 1718-1720. Baptisms, burials, 1720-1761; marriages, 1720-1755. Baptisms, burials, 1762-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1838.
2068353
Baptisms, 1838-1884, 1872-1882, 1884-1945 (Entries before 1882 relate to the the "old" parish church. From 1882 is for the new Parish Church of St. Thomas.). Marriages, 1754-1770.
2068354
Marriages, 1770-1824 (Includes banns, 1778-1812).
2068355
Marriages, 1824-1855.
2068356
Marriages, 1855-1872.
2068357
Marriages, 1872-1918.
2068520
Marriages, 1918-1969. Banns of marriages, 1856-1871, 1887-1899. Burials, 1813-1833.
2068521
Burials, 1833-1854.
2068522 Items 1 - 4

Bishop's transcripts for St. Oswald's Church, Chester, 1603-1838 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 59

Bishops Transcripts: St. Oswald's Church, Chester Film
aptisms, marriages, burials 1603-1604, [no date], 1608-1619, 1622-1624.
1655539 Item 4
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1624-1625, 1636-1642, 1666-1686, 1690, 1693-1730, 1732-1770, 1772-1773, 1771-1772, 1774-1776, 1773-1774, 1776-1786, 1784-1785, 1786-1817, baptisms, 1818, marriages, (January-July) 1818.
1655540
Marriages, (July-December) 1818, burials, 1818, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1819-1821, baptisms, 1822-1824, marriages, 1822-1824, burials, 1822-1824, baptisms, 1824-1825, marriages, 1824-1825, burials, 1824-1825, baptisms, 1825-1826, burials, 1825, 1828, 1825-1826, marriages, 1825-1826, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1827-1834, baptisms, 1835-1836, marriages, 1835-1836, burials, 1835-1836, baptisms, marriages, burials, 1837, baptisms, burials, 1838.
1655592 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Great Boughton (1837-69)
  • Chester (1870-1998)

Poor Law Unions

Chester Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 15 February 2013
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 2,642 times.