Chester St Paul, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Chester St Paul, Cheshire
Boughton St Paul contributor Adie Jackson.jpg
Boughton St Paul contributor Adie Jackson
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Chester Incorporation PLU
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1838
Bishop's Transcripts: 1838
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHESTER is a city and two sub-districts in Great Boughton district, Cheshire; and a diocese in Cheshire and part of Lancashire. The city stands on the river Dee and on the Via Devana, 5 miles SE of the head of the Dee's estuary, and 16 miles, through Birkenhead, SSE of Liverpool. The places of worship within the city, in 1851, were 15 of the Church of England; one of them is St. Paul.[1]

Chester, St. Paul, Boughton Lane. Founded 1838 as a chapel to St John the Baptist, becoming a parish church in 1846 covering parts of the city centre and Great Boughton. In 1879 the parish was extended to include Spital Boughton.

The parish became known as St Paul's Boughton.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241255.

Church records

Chester St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Chester St Paul Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's   NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1853-1879
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes  

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. Paul's Church, Chester, 1838-1947. St. Paul's Church is located in Boughton district of Chester.Cheshire Record Office reference: P162/1/1-6, P162/2/1-4, P162/5964/1, 4.

Parish registers: St. Paul's Church, Chester
FHL Film
Baptisms, 1838-1919. Marriages, 1874-Feb. 1891 BRITISH 2186912
Marriages, Nov. 1890-1934 BRITISH 2186913 Items 1 - 4
Baptisms, 1919-1933 BRITISH 2262740 Item 13
Marriages, 1934-1947. BRITISH 2262741 Item 1

Bishop's transcripts for St. Paul's Church, Chester, 1838-1867 Cheshire Record Office, Chester.Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 60

Bishop's Transcript: St. Paul's Church, Chester
FHL Film
Baptisms, 1838-1867 BRITISH 1647368 Item 4
Baptisms, 1867-1871 BRITISH 1647369 Item 1
Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1870–1998)
  • Cheshire West (post1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chester St Paul on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 15 February 2013

Bibliography

Thacker, A. T.; Lewis, C. P. (eds.) (2005), Churches and religious bodies: Modern parish churches, A History of the County of Chester: Volume 5 part 2: The City of Chester: Culture, Buildings, Institutions, Victoria County History, pp. 159–162, ISBN 9781904356035

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp.35, 172–173, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,973 times.