Chesterton, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Chesterton, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chesterton, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Wolstanton and Burslem PLU
Registration District Newcastle under Lyme; Wolstanton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle under Lyme
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHESTERTON, an ecclesiastical district, partly in the parish of Audley, union of Newcastle-under-Lyme, but chiefly in the parish of Wolstanton, union of Wolstanton and Burslem, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford. At Chesterton are places of worship for Wesleyans and Independents; at Alsager's Bank, about two miles and a half west of that village, is another place of worship for dissenters, and at Red-street a small Unitarian meeting-house. [1]

Chesterton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1846 from  Audley, Staffordshire Ancient Parish and  Wolstanton, Staffordshire Ancient Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chesterton Holy Trinity formed in 1846 from parts of Audley, Staffordshire and Wolstanton, Staffordshire

Chesterton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]   FREG - Search under Wolstanton
CHESTERTON HOLY TRINITY PARISH (1846) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1846-1901 1846-1901 1852-1901 1852-1901 1852-1900 1852-1900
FREG 1846-1892 1852-1908
1852-1897
BIVRI

1852-1906


Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1846-1969 Mar 1852-1984 Bur 1852-1946
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1846-1850 Mar none Bur none

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474622.

Poor Law Unions

Wolstanton and Burslem Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 576-586. Date accessed: 29 October 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 August 2014.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 August 2014.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 August 2014, at 21:14.
  • This page has been accessed 1,366 times.