Chevening, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngKent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Chevening, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chevening, Kent
Chevening St Botolph Kent.jpg
Chevening St Botolph Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Codsheath
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sevenoaks PLU
Registration District Sevenoaks
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHEVENING (St. Botolph), a parish, in the union of Seven-Oaks, hundred of Codsheath, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 3½ miles (N. W.) from Seven-Oaks. [1]


Chevening is a village and civil parish in the Sevenoaks district of Kent see Chevening Wikipedia.

Chevening St Botolph is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester;a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you The Church of St Botolph, Chevening Road has been designated as a grade B listed building and dates from the 13th century.

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 105-126 at British History Online  and Kent Churches website

Chevening House is the official residence of the Foreign Secretary of the United Kingdom Chevening House Wikipedia and has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

The former Non-Conformist Chapel Chipstead Chapel High Street Chevening dates from the 17th century and has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Resources

Civil Registration

See Sevenoaks Registration District 1837-1941

Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chevening, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Chevening, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1876-1884


FS PRs 1561-1876 1561-1876; 1824-1900 (banns) 1561-1877
IGI 1561-1729 1561-1727
IGI 1730-1875 1722-1873

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records

Census returns for Chevening 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Sevenoaks Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent is within reach of the Sevenoaks district, located adjacent to Orpington Station.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 586-593. Date accessed: 15 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 17:16.
  • This page has been accessed 4,477 times.