Cheyenne County, ColoradoEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Colorado
Cheyenne County
Guide to Cheyenne County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Cheyenne County, Colorado | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Colorado | |
![]() Location of Colorado in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 25, 1889 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Cheyenne Wells |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Cheyenne County Courthouse 615 N 5 W PO Box 567 Cheyenne Wells, Co 80810 Phone: 719.767.5685 Cheyenne County Website |
County Courthouse
Register has birth, death and burial records;
County Clerk has marriage from 1889
and land records from 1888; District Court
has divorce and probate records;
County Judge has court records[1]
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
County Seat
Cheyenne Wells [2]
Parent County
Neighboring Counties
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Cheyenne County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.
Church Records
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local History
Local histories are available for Cheyenne County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.
Maps
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cheyenne County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Cheyenne County, Colorado Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.
You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
Public Records
School Records
Repositories
Archives
Courthouse
Family History Centers
Libraries
East Cheyenne County Library District
151 S. 1st West
Cheyenne Wells, CO 80810
Telephone: (719) 767-5138
www.cwpl.org/
Museums
Societies
Kit Carson Historical Society
Kit Carson, CO 80825
Mailing Address:
P.O. BOX 107
Kit Carson, CO 80825
Telephone 719-962-3306
Taxation
Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the Family History Library Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.
Birth
Marriage
Death
Divorce
Places
Websites
- Cheyenne County COGenWeb
- Family History Library Catalog
- Cheyenne County, Colorado Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cheyenne County, Colorado. Page 97At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 June 2013, at 22:40.
- This page has been accessed 1,453 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

