Cheyenne County, NebraskaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Cheyenne County

Cheyenne County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Nebraska
Online Records

Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Cheyenne County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Cheyenne County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded June 22, 1867
County Seat Sidney
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Cheyenne County Courthouse
1000 10th Ave.
Sidney, Nebraska 69162-1612
Phone: 308.254.2141

Contents

County Courthouse

Cheyenne County Courthouse
1000 10th Ave
Sydney, Nebraska 69162
Phone: 308.254.2141

County Clerk has marriage and land records.
County Court has probate records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records. [1]

History

Parent County

1867--Cheyenne County was created 22 June 1867 from unorganized territory. County seat: Sidney [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

  • USGenWeb has a list of Cheyenne County cemeteries, their locations and links to online transcriptions as well as connections to Find-a-grave where it applies.

Census

For tips on accessing Cheyenne County, Nebraska census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Cheyenne County has both a District and a County Court. The District Court issues writs, files papers delivered to him, endorses papers, and keeps records of court proceedings. The County Court files copies of Land records as well as birth, marriage, and death records.

  • Distric Court
    Courthouse
    1000 10th Ave
    PO Box 217
    Sidney, Nebraska 69162-0217
    Telephone: (308)254-2814
  • County Court
    Courthouse
    1000 10th Ave
    Sidney, Nebraska 69162-0217
    Telephone: (308)254-2141

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cheyenne County, Nebraska. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps

Necheyenne.png

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cheyenne County, Nebraska newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Adams - Probate records.

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Societies and Libraries

  • Cheyenne County Genealogical Society (DDGS)
    PO Box 802
    Sidney, Nebraska 69162
    Website: http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~necheyen/CCGS.htm
    The society has all Cheyenne County marriage records prior to 1 Jan 1987, cemetery transcription books done in 1998, census films for the county, and a county history with biographies. See their GenWeb site for fees. The collections of the CCGS have been moved to the Sidney Public Library to the B. Seda Hertiage Room.
  • Sidney Public Library
    1112 12th Ave.
    Sidney, NE 69162
    (308)254-3110
  • Cheyenne County Historical Society
    Fort Sidney Complex
    6th & Jackson Sts.
    Sidney, Nebraska 69162
    (308)254-2550

Family History Centers

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cheyenne County, Nebraska page 429, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 17:22.
  • This page has been accessed 6,916 times.