Chichester St Peter the Great, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Chichester St Peter the Great, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chichester Borough
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Chichester PLU
Registration District Chichester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chichester
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHICHESTER, a city and market-town, having exclusive jurisdiction, locally in the hundred of Box and Stockbridge, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 62 miles (S. W. by S.) from London. Chichester comprises the parishes of All Saints, or the Pallant or Palatinate, containing 327 inhabitants; St. Andrew, 625; St. Martin, 282; St. Olave, 238; St. Pancras, partly within and partly without the walls, 1065; St. Peter the Great, or the Subdeanery, 5021; St. Peter the Less, 349; and St. Bartholomew Without, 297; with the precinct of the Cathedral Close, 145. These parishes were, by act of parliament in 1753, united for the better maintenance of the poor, under the inspection of guardians. There are also an extra-parochial district called Newton, formerly the Black friars, containing 123 persons; and a small extra-parochial plot beyond the walls, called St. James', and containing 40 inhabitants. There are places of worship in the city for the Society of Friends, Huntingtonians, Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians.[1]


Chichester St Peter the Great is an Ancient Parish

Church history Chichester St Peter the Great and Chichester St Peter the Less

See Chichester: Churches (Anglican)', A History of the County of Sussex: Volume 3 (1935), pp. 160-164. here for description of the church and registers

The church of St Peter the Great in West Street was consecrated in 1852 and has been designated as a grade B listed building by English Heritage British listed building

See also Chichester Wikipedia

Chichester Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Chichester registration district

Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Chichester St Peter the Great, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[6]
CHICHESTER ST PETER THE GREAT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1756-1818, 1827-1846
1754-1837 (gaps)

IGI 1558-1756
PALL
1780-1799

PRTS 1558-1901
1558-1901
1556-1901
SOPC Undefined
Undefined

CHICHESTER St. Peter the Great, alias SubDeanery records held at West Sussex Record Office
Bap 1558-1978
Marr 1558-1980
Bur 1568-1921
Bishop’s transcripts 1610-1894



Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Chichester St Peter the Great no results found

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464164.

See Sussex Census



Poor Law Unions

Chichester Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 586-593. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  6. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 2,522 times.