Chickasaw County, IowaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Iowa
Chickasaw County
Guide to Chickasaw County Iowa genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Chickasaw County, Iowa | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Iowa | |
![]() Location of Iowa in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 15, 1815 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | New Hampton |
| Courthouse | |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Chickasaw County Courthouse
8 East Prospect St.
P.O. Box 14
New Hampton, Iowa 50659-0014
(641) 394-2336
History
Parent County
1851--Chickasaw County was created 15 January 18151 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Fayette County prior to organization 12 September 1853. County seat: New Hampton [1]
Boundary
Record Loss
March 26, 1880 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
- Burned Counties Research in FamilySearch Wiki
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Bremer | Butler | Fayette | Floyd | Howard | Mitchell | Winneshiek
Resources
Cemeteries
- Chickasaw County Cemeteries by Iowa GenWeb Project
Census
Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article.
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Chickasaw County Iowa Genealogical Society
- Chickasaw County Iowa Genweb Page
- Family History Library Catalog
- Chickasaw County, Iowa Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 18 April 2013, at 00:50.
- This page has been accessed 1,394 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

