Chickasaw County, MississippiEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png  Mississippi Gotoarrow.png  Chickasaw County

Guide to Chickasaw County, Mississippi ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records


Chickasaw County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Chickasaw County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 8 March, 1852
County Seat Houston
Courthouse
Address Chickasaw County Courthouse<
101 N Jefferson
Houston, MS 38851-0000
Phone: 662.456.2531
Chickasaw County Courthouse

Contents

County Courthouse

Chickasaw County Courthouse
101 N Jefferson
Houston, MS 38851-0000
Phone: 662.456.2531

Clerk Circuit Court in Houston, has marriage, divorce, probate and court records and all land records for county. Clerk Circuit Court in Okolona, has marriage records from 1877 and court records. Clerk Chancery Courth has divorce and probate records from 1886. [1]

Chickasaw County is divided into two Judicial Districts giving the county two seats, one in Houston, and one in Okolona.

Beginning Dates for Chickasaw County, Mississippi Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate






History

  • A History of Chickasaw County, Mississippi v. 1. county history; a pictorial account to the past with commentaries regarding business, commerce, communities, churches, education, wars and memories; family histories -- v. 2. early history; pictorial account and commentaries regarding communities, people and military service; family histories. and maps
  • Chickasaw times past

Parent County

1836--Chickasaw County was created 9 February 1836 from the Chickasaw Cession.  County records are located in Houston and Okolona.
County seat: Houston and Okolona[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

1852 - Calhoun County was organized in 1852 by the Mississippi Legislature with land from Chickasaw, Lafayette and Yalobusha Counties. Pittsboro was established the same year to be the county seat which was briefly at Hartford. The courthouse at Pittsboro, burned December 22, 1922, along with all records except five books of abstracts of land records.

1871 - Clay County was formed on May 12, 1871 during Mississippi's Reconstruction Period from parts of Chickasaw, Lowndes, Oktibbeha and Monroe counties. The new county was originally named Colfax, in honor of Schuyler Colfax, Ulysses S. Grant's vice president. After reconstruction rule ended in Mississippi the county was renamed Clay during 1876, in honor of Henry Clay, American statesman, who was secretary of state under John Quincy Adams.

1874 - Webster County was established on April 6, 1874, under the name of Sumner County, and was organized from parts of Chickasaw, Choctaw, Montgomery, and Oktibbeha Counties. On January 30, 1882, its name was changed to Webster, in honor of the great statesman Daniel Webster.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses

1863--Some records were lost.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Chickasaw County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.


Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Chickasaw County, Mississippi. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War
  • Men from Chickasaw County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Chickasaw County.
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi State Cavalry
Company B - Johnson Partisans
Company G - Isbell’s Company
Company I - Clarke’s Company
- 5th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company G - Barry Guards
- 6th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company L - Williams’ Company
- 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's)
Company E - Walker’s Company
- 8th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry (formerly 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's)
Company E - Walker’s Company
- 9th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company E - Chickasaw Mounted Guards
- Perrin's Battalion, Mississippi State Cavalry
Company H - Chickasaw Rangers
- 11th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company H - Chickasaw Rangers
- 11th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company C - Prairie Rifles, aka Prairie Rifleman
Company H - Chickasaw Guards
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War Battle was fought in Chickasaw County

Map showing Civil war battles in Mississippi.

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Chickasaw County, Mississippi newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Chickasaw County, Mississippi Clerk of Court and are housed at the Chickasaw County, Mississippi Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chickasaw County, Mississippi page 378, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/ce/Igimississippia.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 November 2014, at 15:34.
  • This page has been accessed 13,830 times.