Chilcote, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Chilcote, Derbyshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chilcote, Derbyshire
Chilcote St Matthew Leicestershire.jpg
Chilcote St Matthew Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Tamworth PLU
Registration District Tamworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1595; For more records see Clifton Campville (Staffordshire)
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tutbury
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHILCOTE, a chapelry, in the parish of Clifton Campville, union of Tamworth, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 6½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Ashby-de-la-Zouch. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Chilcote St Matthew chapel of ease to Clifton Campville, Staffordshire

Chilcote parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers[2]
CHILCOTE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1660-1786, 1805-1809, 1813-1856   NONE
NONE   NONE
NONE   NONE

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1595-2006 Mar 1595-1734 Bur 1595-1734
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1813-1860 Mar None Bur None Missing Bap 1853-1854, 1856

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformists Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.

Poor Law Unions

Tamworth Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 593-597. Date accessed: 03 May 2013.
  2. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 July 2014, at 20:49.
  • This page has been accessed 2,609 times.