China GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to China ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Getting started with China research
Welcome to the China page. Here you will find links to useful articles and websites that will help you with your research! To learn how to begin doing Chinese research, see Chinese Research Helps. For information on more specific locations, see the links below:
China has 23 provinces (sheng, singular and plural), 5 autonomous regions (zizhiqu, singular and plural), and 4 municipalities (shi, singular and plural)
Having trouble converting to or from Chinese dates?
Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:
- Browse: Category:China
- Library: The Shanghai Library expects to complete the world's largest genealogical database, containing about 50,000 Chinese family trees, by the end of 2007. Read more...
Did you know?
China is probably the oldest surviving nation on earth. Its history and culture easily goes back over 2,000 years and some family histories have been found that go back to nearly 500 BC if not further.
Today it is one of the two most populated nations on earth....
- This page was last modified on 9 September 2015, at 03:37.
- This page has been accessed 39,593 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News