Chippewa-Cree IndiansEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Montana Gotoarrow.png Indians of Montana Gotoarrow.png Chippewa-Cree Indians

Guide to Chippewa-Cree Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

{{#if: Chippewa, Cree|
Rocky-Boy Sundance.jpg
2009 6,177 tribal members, 3400 on res.[1] 
??? ??? 

Regions with significant populations
Ancestral Homelands:

Rocky Boy's Reservation in Montana


Federally recognized since the 1890s as the Chippewa-Cree Tribe

Linguistic Group

not yet researched

Cultural Group

not yet researched

Other Related Ethnic Groups

Chippewa, Cree

Alternate names: Ne Hiyawak


Tribal Headquarters

Chippewa Cree Tribe
RR1 Box 544
Box Elder, Mt. 59521
Phone: 1.406.395.4478 fax: 406.395.4497
Phone: 1.406.395.5705 fax: 1.406.395.5702


The Chippewa-Cree Indian Tribe is a single entity in today's world, but is a combination of portions of the Chippewa Tribe and the Cree Tribe.

The Chippewa or Ojibway Indians are one of the largest groups of American Indians in North America. There are nearly 150 different bands of Chippewa in the northern part of the United States and in southern Canada (especially inOntario, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan). The ancestors of the Chippewa portion of the Chippewa-Cree migrated from the Turtle Mountain area of North Dakota in the late 1800s[2].

The Cree nation is the largest group in Canada. That tribe had two divisions; Woodland Cree and Plains Cree. A small portion of this very large First Nation in Canada migrated south out of Canada, into North Dakota and Montana, also in the late 1800s. With them came some of the Metis, descendants of Louis Riel[3].

These two groups of the Chippewa and the Cree united in the 1890's and looked for a permanent home. At various times, all or part of them lived placed under the jurisdiction of the Blackfeet, Flathead, andFort Belknap Indian Agencies[4].

During the early 1900's the tribes petitioned the government for a reservation, and in 1916 the Rocky Boy Reservation was established for the Chippewa-Cree Indians[5].

Under the Indian Reorganization Act, the Chippewa-Cree organized themselves under their Constitution and Bylaws as the Chippewa-Cree Indians of the Rocky Boy's Reservation, Montana. Their Constitution was adopted in 1935 and amended in 1973[6].

Brief Time Line

  • 1916: The tribe assigned to Rocky Boy's Reservation in Montana with the Plains Cree
  • 1935: organized under the Indian Reorganization Act
  • 1953: United States terminated its relationship with the sovereign nation of Chippewa, mandated by House Concurrent Resolution 108.
  • 1968: The American Indian Movement (AIM) was founded by three Ojibwa (Chippewa): Dennis Banks, George Mitchell, and Clyde Bellecourt
  • 1973: Constitution and By-Laws of the tribe was amended.

Additional References to the History of the Tribes

For pre-1916 history and record of the Chippewa see: Chippewa Indians
For pre-1916 history and records of the Cree see: Cree Indians


Rocky Boy's Reservation


The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:


The following agencies of the Bureau of Indian Affairs had jurisdiction over the Chippewa-Cree for the time periods indicated. BIA agencies were responsible to keep such records as census rolls, allotment (land) records, annuity rolls, school records, correspondence, and other records of individual Indians under their jurisdiction. For details, see the page for the respective agency.

The agencies which had jurisdiction over a major portion of the Chippewa-Cree in the United States were:

Fort Belknap Agency, abt. 1890-1916
Rocky Boy's Agency, 1916-present

The following agencies may have had some records of Chippewa-Cree living among the Indians under their jurisdiction for the years indicated, until the Rocky Boy's Reservation was established..

Blackfeet Agency, abt. 1890-1916
Flathead Agency, abt 1890-1916


The Bureau of Indian Affairs compiled annual Indian Census Rolls on many of the reservations from 1885 to 1940. They list the names of individuals, their age, and other details about each person enumerated. For more information about these records, click here.

The following lists the census rolls for the Chippewa-Cree Indians:

Rocky Boy's Agency; M595, Roll 426, 1919-1939; FHL|Film: 581420


There are several sets of correspondence between the supervising offices of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and the local offices -- agencies, subagencies, etc. The correspondence is often historical in nature, including reports of the conditions among local groups of Indians, hostilities, plans for building facilities, activities of traders or missionaries, etc. Occasionally, there will be names of individuals but little detail about them. For more information about American Indian correspondence, click here.


During the latter part of the 18th Century and most of the 19th Century, treaties were negotiated between the federal government and individual Indian tribes. The treaties provide helpful information about the history of the tribe, but usually only include the names of those persons who signed the treaty. For more information about treaties, click here.

Treaties relating to the combined Chippew-Cree Tribe would have been negotiated with the Chippewa Tribe or the Cree Tribe separately.

Tribal Office Records

The Tribal Office is responsible for enrollment records, vital records, tribal police records, tribal court records, employment records and many others. They are an entirely different set of records from those kept by the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Most of them remain in the Tribal Office. For details, contact that office at the address for the Tribal Headquarters listed above.

Vital Records

Prior to the Indian Reorganization Act, the Bureau of Indian Affairs, through their agencies, may have recorded some vital events. Some were recorded on health forms, such as the "Sanitary Record of Sick, Injured, Births, Deaths, etc." Others were recorded as supplements to the "Indian Census Rolls." Some were included in the unindexed reports and other correspondence of the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

Some vital records for the Chippewa-Cree Indians include:

Rocky Boy's Agency, births and deaths, 1924-1939, M595, Roll 426, FHL Film 581420

Web Sites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.


  1. Tribal Web Site for the Chippewa Cree Tribe
  2. Wikipedia article on the Chippewa-Cree Tribe
  3. Wikipedia article on the Chippewa-Cree Tribe
  4. Tribal Web Site for the Chippewa Cree Tribe
  5. Tribal Web Site for the Chippewa Cree Tribe
  6. Tribal Web Site for the Chippewa Cree Tribe


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 August 2015, at 22:23.
  • This page has been accessed 18,585 times.