Chippewa County, MinnesotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Minnesota
Chippewa County
Guide to Chippewa County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Chippewa County, Minnesota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Minnesota | |
![]() Location of Minnesota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 20, 1862 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Montevideo |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Chippewa County Courthouse 629 North 11th Street Montevideo, MN 56265 Phone: 320-269-7774 (Administrator) Phone: 320-269-9431 Chippewa County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Clerk District Court has birth, marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1870,
County Recorder has land records from 1870.
City Clerks have burial records. [1]
History
Parent County
1862--Chippewa County was created 20 February 1862 from Pierce, Eliminated 20 Feb 1862, and Davis, Eliminated 20 Feb 1862, Counties. County seat: Montevideo [2]
- For a brief history of how Chippewa County was name, click here. Then select Chippewa County.
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Cities
Clara City | Granite Falls | Maynard | Milan | Montevideo | Watson
Townships
Big Bend Township | Crate Township | Grace Township | Granite Falls Township | Havelock Township | Kragero Township | Leenthrop Township | Lone Tree Township | Louriston Township | Mandt Township | Rheiderland Township | Rosewood Township | Sparta Township | Stoneham Township | Tunsberg Township | Woods Township
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Lutheran
Granite Falls
- Records of Granite Falls Lutheran Church in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]
Milan
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Milan, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]
Montevideo
- Records of the Trinity Lutheran Church, Montevideo, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]
Court
Land
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Chippewa County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Chippewa County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Chippewa County, Minnesota Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see, FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.
Taxation
Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Chippewa County, MN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Family History Library Catalog
- Chippewa County, MNGenWeb
- Cyndi's List: Chippewa County
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chippewa County, Minnesota page 363, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 June 2013, at 19:41.
- This page has been accessed 1,701 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

