Chippewa County, Wisconsin GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Chippewa County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Chippewa County, Wisconsin|
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
|Founded||February 3, 1845|
|County Seat||Chippewa County|
|Address|| Chippewa County Courthouse|
711 North Bridge Street
Chippewa Falls, WI 54729-1876
For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses
1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable images to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
1885 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable images to the 1885 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
Central Lutheran Church, Chippewa Falls
- Records of Central Lutheran Church, Chippewa Falls, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic and Religious Groups
Land and Property
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Wisconsin
- Family Maps of Chippewa County, Wisconsin (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Civil War service men from Chippewa County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Chippewa County.
- - 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company I
- - 7th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company A
- - 14th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company G
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945
Naturalization and Citizenship
- 1800 – 1987 Wisconsin Wills and Probate Records 1800-1987 at Ancestry.com — images and index $
- 1848 – 1948 Wisconsin Probate Estate Files 1848-1948 at FamilySearch — images
Chippewa County Historical Scty
123 Allen Street
Chippewa Falls 54729-2802
Bloomer Historical Society
1104 Vine St
Bloomer, WI 54724
Cadott Area Historical Society
PO Box 1
Cadott, WI 54727-0001
Stanley Area Historical Society
995 N Emery St
Stanley, WI 54768
Area Research Center - University of Wisconsin
Eau Claire, Special Collections Department
William D. McIntyre Library
Eau Claire, WI 54702-5010
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Chippewa County Courthouse
711 North Bridge Street
Chippewa Falls, Wi 54729-1876
Register of Deeds has birth records from 1868, marriage records
from 1860, divorce records from 1870, land records from 1856,
naturalization records 1895-1955 and 1905 State Census,
Register in Probate has probate records
- 1826 - 1926 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings, 1826-1926 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Birth Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1826 - 1908 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings Index, 1826-1908 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1836 - 1930 Wisconsin, Marriages, 1836-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin, Marriage Index, 1973-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin Marriages, 1973-1997 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- 1867 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Records, 1867-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1835 - 1968 Wisconsin, Deaths and Burials, 1835-1968 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1959 - 1997 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1959-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Chippewa County, WI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 18 November 2015, at 02:40.
- This page has been accessed 10,182 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News