Chipping, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Chipping, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chipping, Lancashire
Chipping St Bartholomew Lancashire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Clitheroe PLU
Registration District Clitheroe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1678
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHIPPING (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Clitheroe, Lower division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of the county of Lancaster; containing, with the township of Thornley with Wheatley, 12 miles (northeast by north of Preston. There were places of worship for Independents and Presbyterians; also one for Roman Catholics, built in 1827.[1]

Chipping is named in the Domesday Book as Chippenden; the name is derived from the medieval Chepyn meaning market place. Chipping is a prefix used in a number of place names in England, and is probably derived from ceapen, an Old English word meaning 'market', though the meaning may alternatively come from (or via) the Medieval English word chepynge with a more specific meaning of 'long market square'.

The village is known to be at least 1,000 years old and is mentioned in Domesday. It lies on the south-western edge of the ancient Forest of Bowland abutting the civil parish of Bowland-with-Leagram. Leagram Park, the site of one of the medieval deer parks of the Forest, is a short drive from the village. Despite this, Chipping was not a part of the ancient Forest and its manor did not fall within the powerful Lordship of Bowland.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD


Church records

FS =FamilySearch.org
LOPC =  Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP =  FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
JOIN =Joiner's Marriage Index
LBMDLancashire BMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
GLUK = GenealogyLinksUK


 

CHIPPING ST BARTHOLOMEW (1559) Indexes (online)

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1559-18794 1600-1623;1661-1671;1678-1871 1678-1870
LOPC 1771-1881 1771-1881 1771-1881
GLUK  1559-1694 1559-1694 1559-1694
AC  1559-1694; 1813-1911
1559-1694; 1813-1911
1559-1694; 1813-1911
LBMD 1837-1974 1837-2004 1837-1958
JOIN 1813-1837
FMP None 1599-1837 None

The origin parish registers for Chipping Parish are found at the Lancashire Record Office, Bow Lane, Preston PR1 2RE, UK.

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A. has obtained microfilm copies of the original parish registers as well as the Bishop's transcripts for Chipping St Bartholomew Parish from 1559-1881. These may be ordered for and researched at any of its satellite FamilySearch Centres worldwide.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306894.


Poor Law Unions

Clitheroe Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 599-603. Date accessed: 25 June 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 4,304 times.