Chipping Norton, OxfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chadlington
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Chipping Norton PLU
Registration District Chipping Norton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chipping Norton
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NORTON, CHIPPING (St. Mary), an incorporated market-town, a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Chadlington, county of Oxford, 19 miles (N. W.) from Oxford, and 74 (N. W. by W.) from London. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chipping Norton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FAMR = Family Relatives - (£)[3]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free[4]
GOOG = Google Books - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[9]
CHIPPING NORTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1626-1649

FAMR
1560-1837

FSBOOK
1560-1837

GOOG 1563-1647, 1652-1686 1560-1646, 1653-1657 1572-1630
IGI 1653-1856
OFHS 1563-1962
1560-1990
1564-1971
PALL
1800-1837

TGEN 1560-1837
1560-1837
1560-1837


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474573.

 

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 442-446. Date accessed: 17 September 2012.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 21 January 2014.
  3. W.P.W. Phillimore, Oxfordshire Parish Registers, Volume 1 (London: Phillimore and Co., 1907). Digitised by Family Relatives - (£).
  4. W.P.W. Phillimore, Oxfordshire Parish Registers, Volume 1 (London: Phillimore and Co., 1907). Digitised by FamilySearch Books - free.
  5. T. Phillipps, Chipping-Norton Register (1825). Digitised by Google Books - free.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Oxford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 January 2014.
  7. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:40.
  • This page has been accessed 2,283 times.