Chislet, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngKent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes


Guide to Chislet, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Chislet, Kent
Chislet St Mary the Virgin Kent.jpg
Chislet St Mary the Virgin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bleangate
County Kent
Poor Law Union Blean PLU
Registration District Blean
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Westbere
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHISLET (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Blean, hundred of Bleangate, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 7 miles (N. E.) from Canterbury. [1]

Chislet is a village and civil parish in the City of Canterbury district of Kent, see Chislet Wikipedia.

Chislet St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Canterbury.

The Church of St Mary the Virgin has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 101-109 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See also Church History

Resources

Civil Registration

See  Blean Registration District Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chislet parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS = FamilySearch - free[7]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free
IARC = Internet Archive - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[10]
CHISLET PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1538-1912 1538-1912 1543-1909;
1754-1909 (Banns)
1543-1909;
1754-1909 (Banns)
1544-1967 1544-1967
FREG 1538-1727
1538-1683
1538-1608
FS 1538-1707
1538-1707

FSBOOK 1538-1707
1538-1707
1538-1707
IARC 1538-1707
1538-1707
1538-1707
IGI 1538-1707 1538-1707
TGEN 1538-1707
1538-1707
1538-1707

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records

Census returns for Chislet 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Blean Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chislet on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 599-603. Date accessed: 15 July 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 March 2012.
  8. The Register of All the Christenings, Marriages, and Burials in the Parish of St. Mary, Chislet, in the County of Kent, from the Year 1583 to 1707 (London: Mitchell and Hughes, Printers, 1887). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  10. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 7,582 times.