Chiswick St Nicholas, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Chiswick St Nicholas

Guide to Chiswick St Nicholas, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chiswick St Nicholas, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Kensington Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Brentford PLU
Registration District Brentford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHISWICK (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Brentford, Kensington division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex, 4½ miles (W. by S.) from London.[1]

Chiswick St. Nicholas, an ancient parish, was built by 1678, "in the union of Brentford, Kensington division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex, 4½ miles (W. by S.) from London".[2] WIthin this parish, were several chapelries attached to, lying within its boundary:

  • All Saints Mission Church, Beverley Road - 1901
  • Christ Church, Turnham Green - 1845 - Google Map (courtesy: WeRelate)
  • St. James, Gunnersbury - 1888
  • St. Mary Magdalene's, Benett Street - 1860
  • St. Michael & All Angels Bedford Park - 1879
  • St. Paul's, Grove Park - 1870

The following denominations, at least historically, had the following chapels lying within the parish prior to 1900[3]:

Congregationalists/Independents

  • Chiswick Lane Chapel - 1812; chapel acquired by Baptists in 1866
  • Strand-on-the-Green 1833
  • Turnham Green or Gunnersbury Congregational Church - 1873

Methodists

  • Chiswick Methodist Church, Sutton Court Rd - 1845
  • Strand-on-the-Green Meeting - abt 1875
  • Primitive Methodist, formerly Congregationalist and Baptist Chapel, Chiswick La. - 1882 (see above)

Baptists

  • Chiswick Baptist Church (formerly Cong. Chapel, Chiswick La. - 1866
  • Iron Chapel, Annandale Rd - 1882
  • Gunnersbury Baptist Chapel - 1873

Reformed Episcopalians

  • Emmanuel Reformed Episcopal Church - 1883

Salvation Army

  • Chiswick Hall, High Rd - 1890

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Chiswick St Nicholas Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1678
1678
1678
Indexes 1678-1837 findmypast[4] 1678-1868 findmypast[5]
1678-1837 findmypast[6] 1813-1850 BritishOrigins[7]
    1790-1837 Ancestry[8]    
1801-1837 BritishOrigins[9]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438805.

1666 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records

Records survive for Sutton Manor (1222-1900) in Chiswick Parish. The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chiswick on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. LewisA Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 599-603. Date accessed: 13 November 2013.
  2. 1. Samuel Lewis, ed. " Chinley - Chiswick," In A Topographical Dictionary of England 599-603. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here.
  3. 'Chiswick: Protestant nonconformity', A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 7: Acton, Chiswick, Ealing and Brentford, West Twyford, Willesden (1982), pp. 93-95. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=22567 Date accessed: 10 February 2012
  4. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  5. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  6. "West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage," Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  7. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  9. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:55.
  • This page has been accessed 8,188 times.