Chithurst, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Chithurst, Sussex
Downloaded3170566848493709447 Chithurst St+Mary West+Sussex.jpg
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dumpford
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Midhurst PLU
Registration District Midhurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1628; For more records see Iping
Bishop's Transcripts: 1618
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Midhurst
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHITHURST, a parish, in the union of Midhurst, hundred of Dumpford, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 3¾ miles (W. N. W.) from Midhurst.[1]


Chithurst St Mary is a former chapelry of  Iping, Sussex Ancient Parish. It is within the Trotton with Chithurst Civil Parish in the Chichester district of East Sussex.

The history of the church is detailed Sussex Parish Churches

The church at Chithurst lane has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Chithurst Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Chithurst Wikipedia and 'Chithurst', A History of the County of Sussex: Volume 4: The Rape of Chichester (1953), pp. 4-6. here

See also Troton with Chithurst Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Chithurst, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Chithurst, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1615-1819 1615-1819, 1839-1875
PRTS 1615-1819
1615-1819, 1839-1903
1628-1818

Sping cum Clithurst parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
SPING CUM CLITHURST PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1837

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Chithurst

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions

Midhurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 603-607. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 975 times.