Chitimacha TribeEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Louisiana Gotoarrow.png Indians of Louisiana Gotoarrow.png Chitimacha Tribe

Guide to Chitimacha Tribe ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Chitimacha Tribe Langs N American Map.png

The Chitimacha Tribe is primarily associated with the state of Louisiana[1].

Contents

Tribal Headquarters

Chitimacha Tribe of Louisiana
P.O. Box 661
155 Chitimacha Loop
Charenton, LA 70523

Phone: 1.337.923.4973
Fax: 1.337.923.6848
E-mail: info@chitimacha.gov

History

Brief Timeline

1699: French encounter the tribe, The French allies of Acolapissa and Natchitoches tribes made slave raids and took military actions against the Chitimacha.

1718: French made peace with the tribe.

1762: French turned "Louisiana" over to Spain. Many Acadian intermarried with the Chitimacha.

1919: Federal recognition

Additional References to the History of the Tribe

Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Chitimacha tribe, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods. Additional details are given in John Swanton's The Indian Tribes of North America.

Reservations

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Important Web Sites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References

  1. Indian Entities Recognized and Eligible To Receive Services From the United States Bureau of Indian Affairs, Federal Register, Vol. 67, No. 134, 12 July 2002 Available online


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 August 2015, at 14:21.
  • This page has been accessed 5,032 times.