Choctaw County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Choctaw County

Guide to Choctaw County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Choctaw County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 29, 1847
County Seat Butler
Courthouse
Choctaw County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Choctaw County Courthouse
117 S. Mulberry St.
Butler, AL 36904
Phone:(205) 459-2155
County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage probate and land records from 1873
Clerk Circuit Cout has court and divorce records. [1]

History

Parent County

1847--Choctaw County was created 29 December 1847 from Washington and Sumter Counties.
County seat: Butler [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Fire.png
Choctaw County had destructive courthouse fires in 1859 and 1871. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide  page 26 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Alchoctaw.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

  • Cemetery Records of Choctaw County, Alabama. 1945. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes Baptist Cemetery (Mount Sterling), Birdsong Baptist Church Cemetery, Brightwater Cemetery, Camp Spring Cemetery, Christophers Chapel Cemetery, Clear Creek Cemetery, Concord Cemetery, Ebenezor Cemetery, Episcopal Cemetery (Pushmataha), Kinibish Cemetery, Lisman Cemetery, Methodist Cemetery (Old Bethlehem), Mount Sterling Cemetery, Old Bethel Cemetery, Old Providence Cemetery, Old Tompkinsville Cemetery, Rehobath Baptist Church Cemetery (Pushmataha).

Census

For tips on accessing Choctaw County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Choctaw County, Alabama
Year Pop.  %±
1850 8,389
1860 13,877 65.4%
1870 12,676 −8.7%
1880 15,731 24.1%
1890 17,526 11.4%
1900 18,136 3.5%
1910 18,483 1.9%
1920 20,753 12.3%
1930 20,513 −1.2%
1940 20,195 −1.6%
1950 19,152 −5.2%
1960 17,870 −6.7%
1970 16,589 −7.2%
1980 16,839 1.5%
1990 16,018 −4.9%
2000 15,922 −0.6%
2010 13,859 −13.0%
Sources:[4][5][6][7]

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Choctaw County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Choctaw County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Choctaw County.

- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company A, Ruffin Dragoons
- 22nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C "Brownrigg Warriors"
- 23rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G
- 32nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F
- 40th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D, E and F
- 54th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C (formerly Co. "B", 1st AL, TN, and MS Infantry)
- 54th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F (formerly Co. "F", 1st AL, TN, and MS Infantry)



Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Choctaw County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Choctaw County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Choctaw County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Choctaw County is in District 1.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
1916 - Choctaw County Birth Index 1916. Batch C545611 at FamilySearch - free.[8]
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry– ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
  • 1916 - Choctaw County Death Index 1916. Batch B545612 at FamilySearch - free.[8]

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Choctaw County has two books:

Societies and Libraries

Family History Center

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Choctaw County p. 36. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 25. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  4. "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml. 
  5. through 1960
  6. Columbia-Lippincott Gazeteer. (New York: Columbia University Press, 1952) p. 403
  7. 2006 World Almanac, p. 525
  8. 8.0 8.1 8.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igialabama.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 March 2014, at 19:18.
  • This page has been accessed 18,663 times.