Choctaw County, MississippiEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Mississippi
Choctaw County
Guide to Choctaw County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
County Courthouse
Choctaw County Courthouse
112 Quinn Street PO Box 736;
Ackerman, MS 39735-0000
Phone: 662.285.6329
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate court and land records from 1881. [1]
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| |
1881 |
|
|
1881 |
|
History
Parent County
1833 - Choctaw County was created from part of the territory ceded by the Choctaw Indians under the treaty of Dancing Rabbit in 1830. Choctaw county was organized December 23, 1833.
County seat: Ackerman [2]
Boundary Changes
Variant Spellings
Record Loss
There have been several fires and early records are missing. Records after 1881 are found in Ackerman.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Genealogy Resources
Research Guides
African Americans
Bible Records
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Choctaw County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.
- 1837 - 1837 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1841 - 1841 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1845 - 1845 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1853 - 1853 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1860 - 1860 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.
Court
Genealogy
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Choctaw County, Mississippi. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.
Maps
- Family Maps of Choctaw County, Mississippi (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Civil War
- Men from Choctaw County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Choctaw County.
- - 1st Regiment, Mississippi Light Artillery
- Company C - Turner’s Battery
- - 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry Reserves
- Company K - Davis’ Company
- - 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
- Company A - Choctaw Rangers
- - 3rd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry
- Company D - Choctaw Rough & Ready Company
- - 4th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company A - Bankston Guards
- - 5th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company G - Barry Guards
- -19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's)
- Company D - Cochran’s Company
- - 8th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry (formerly 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's)
- Company D - Cochran’s Company
- - Perrin's Battalion, Mississippi State Cavalry
- Company B - Choctaw Rangers
- - 11th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
- Company I - Mississippi Cleansers, aka Barksdale Avengers
Naturalization
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Choctaw County, Mississippi newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Choctaw County, Mississippi Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Occupations
Probate Records
Probate records are held by the Choctaw County, Mississippi Clerk of Court and are housed at the Choctaw County, Mississippi Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Taxation
Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.
- 1835-1893 - County Tax Rolls, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.
Birth
Marriage
- 1881-1886 - Marriages of Black Couples, Choctaw County, Mississippi Marriage Book A. Courtesy: MSGenWeb - free.
- 1881-1925 - Choctaw County Marriage Books A-F, 2-4 Index 1881-1925 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1904-1922 (gaps) - Choctaw County, Mississippi Index to Marriages. Courtesy: MSGenWeb - free.
Death
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Choctaw County, Mississippi page 378, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/ce/Igimississippia.pdf.
| This Mississippi-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 June 2013, at 01:44.
- This page has been accessed 2,271 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More