Chollerton, NorthumberlandEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Chollerton, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Hexham PLU|
|Parish registers: 1643|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1769|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Northumberland Record Office|
CHOLLERTON (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Hexham, N. E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland; containing, with the chapelry of Birtley, and the townships of Barrasford, Colwell with Swinburn, and Gunnerton with Chipchase.
St Giles Chollerton is an ancient parish comprising the townships of Barrasford, Chollerton, Colwell and Swinburn, and Gunnerton and Chipchase,Chollerton with Whiteside Law and Little Swinburn, Colwell and Great Swinburn, Colwell and Swinburn, Gunnerton, Gunnerton and Chipchase and Whiteside Law.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/54 1769-1868 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. Chollerton, St Giles: Records of baptisms 1647-1959, marriages 1664-1991 and burials 1664-1995 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1643-1875 and marriages 1664-1877 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1648-1814 and banns 1751-1814. Transcripts of baptisms 1643-1815 and marriages and burials 1643-1851 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Chollerton (microfiche TN80) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438894.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 30 May 2014, at 15:15.
- This page has been accessed 740 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki