Chorley St Laurence, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Chorley St Laurence, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chorley St Laurence, Lancashire
Saint Lawrence Church Chorley.JPG
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leyland
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Chorley PLU
Registration District Chorley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1548
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leyland
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHORLEY (St Lawrence), a market-town and a parish [as of 1630], and the head of a union, in the hundred of Leyland, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 32 miles south by east of Lancaster. [1]

Here are the chapelries standing within the civil parish boundaries of Chorley St Lawrence Parish:

St George - 1835

St Peter - 1851

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Chorley St. Laurence parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg
JOIN =Joiner's Marriage Index


CHORLEY ST LAURENCE PARISH (1548) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1549-1895 1548-1900 1822-1899 (part.)
LOPC 1548-1900 1548-1652, 1654-1904 1548-1856
LBMD 1837-1974 1837-1975 1837-1974
FMP None 1548-1837 None
JOIN 1813-1837
AC 1548-1653 1548-1653 1548-1653
CHORLEY ST GEORGE Chapelry  (1836) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1836-1900 1836-1900 1836-1860
LOPC 1836-1900 1836-1900 1836-1900
LBMD None 1837-1975 None
CHORLEY ST PETER Chapelry  (1851) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1851-1900 1852-1900 1851-1857
LOPC 1851-1900 1852-1900 None
LBMD None 1852-1975 None
Catholic

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306911.

Chorley's census records for the years 1841, 1851 and 1881 have been indexed and the data posted online at Lancashire's Online Parish Clerk and at FamilySearch. To view these, click the following years:




Poor Law Unions

Chorley Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 603-607. Date accessed: 16 September 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 9,302 times.