Chorley St Peter, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Chorley St Peter, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chorley St Peter, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leyland
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Chorley PLU
Registration District Chorley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1851
Bishop's Transcripts: 1851
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leyland
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Chorley (St Peter) was created a chapelry in 1851, taken from and lying within the parish boundaries of Chorley St Laurence. It is a market town with a railway station, and is N. Lancashire, 9 miles SE. of Preston, 25 miles NE. of Liverpool, and 203 miles NW. of London.[1]

The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Chorley St. Peter chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Chorley St. Laurence to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


CHORLEY ST PETER Chapelry  (1851) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1851-1900 1852-1900 1851-1857
LOPC 1851-1900 1852-1900 None
LBMD None 1852-1975 None
CHORLEY ST LAURENCE PARISH (1548) Indexes (ancient parish containing CHORLEY ST PETER Chapelry)

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1549-1895 1548-1900 1822-1899 (part.)
LOPC 1548-1900 1548-1652, 1654-1904 1548-1856
LBMD 1837-1974 1837-1975 1837-1974
FMP None 1548-1837 None
AC 1548-1653 1548-1653 1548-1653


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Chorley St. Peter and comprising the whole ancient parish of Chorley St. Laurence to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the CHORLEY ST LAURENCE PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306911.


Poor Law Unions

Chorley Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to <a href="Lancashire Probate Records">Lancashire Probate Records</a> to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

"http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/index.jsp">Vision of Britain</a>

Websites

Chorley on GENUKI

References

  1. Bartholemew, John, Gazetteer of the British Isles published in 1887.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 5,763 times.